The Journey of My New Side Table

24 Jan

 

One of my recent focuses on furnishing my place is finding a coffee table. Not only am I severely lacking in any place to set my diet cokes, but my living room looks vacant and empty without anything there to break up the space.

In a former apartment, I used an old trunk that was my grandmother’s (story for another time), but it’s too tall and awkward in my current space.

For the past several months, I made it my personal goal to find something to work with my style, and have completely failed. I would say it isn’t so much a lack of options in the area, more that when I go out downtown to shop, I am easily distracted by other things and often find myself back at home with a new dress in hand or some other fun home or clothing accessory. I call this shopping blackout.

So, while I work on my coffee table search, I figured I could find something to work in the interim. My grand idea came into place when I saw an adorable 1/2 circle side table at a local shop that will soon be closing its doors. In my favorite color of teal, I just couldn’t resist the sweet leg details and even sweeter price. I envisioned this being the perfect piece to sit aside my couch arm to hold Diet Cokes and other table-worthy items, like pictures of my cats.

I walk my new find home (the benefit of buying small furniture and living in a downtown apartment), only to discover that it looked silly and awkward propped up against my couch. Not to be daunted by a purchase I not only love, but can’t return, I move it against a wall that while bare below, features a fun oil painting by a local artist (not pictured).

At this point, using this table for its original purpose (see statement above about Diet Cokes and cat pictures) was mute. So, I took a vase I already had out – a thick, rectangular orange vase and a few orange hardcover books from my bookcase, and put it together. Stacking the bright, coordinating books below makes a bold and inexpensive decor statement that I enjoy every time I come home.

 

4 Responses to “The Journey of My New Side Table”

  1. kateshrewsday March 18, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Very, very pretty and I love the red accents 🙂

    • tealandtulle March 18, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

      Thank you, Kate! I look forward to visiting your blog as well!

      Erin

  2. Jackie January 24, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    I find this side table to be utterly charming and adorable! It’s definitely a purchase to hold onto despite not having a specific place for it. One always needs a diet coke (and in my case tea) shelf of some sort for future use.

    I can’t wait to see the closet makeover!

    -Jackie

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Green with Envy « teal and tulle - August 8, 2012

    […] piece is my little wall table – which was featured in my first post on Teal and Tulle. I bought it at a fashionable shabby chic shop here in town, loving the sloppily […]

Leave a Reply

