Closet Ambition: Chapter 2

1 Feb

I have come a long way since my first post on Closet Ambition. Here’s what has been accomplished:

1. Everything was removed from the closet and placed elsewhere (thank god for additional storage), including the side shelves that were installed by a previous tenant

2. Painted the trim and permanent shelves in closet

3. Painted walls

Painting on your own is a slow, painful process. I will be the first to admit I did not necessarily enjoy painting. I did numbers 1 & 2 (above) fine on my own, but until I was able to paint the walls, I was living in an agony of restricted closet space. With a trip to Vegas looming in the near future, where it is imperative to pick out just the right outfits, I needed to finish this project so I’d have the elbow room to shop my closet.

Solution? Recruit help. I wanted to paint the walls on my own, but my want to complete this project in a timely manner superseded my pride. Yup, it doesn’t take much to fore go my pride.

When recruiting help for painting, it is important to factor in the following criterion:

1. Someone with experience in painting

2. Someone preferably with height

3. Someone who supports whatever wild ideas and notions you come up with, like converting a closet into a dressing room

Running those numbers, I came up with my dad. He was actually more than happy to help, and for the trade of homemade quiche and a diet coke, he came over and helped me knock out the painting (two coats!) in 90 minutes.

Next steps: Install rods, touch-up any globs of paint on the trim work I so diligently worked on (and then proceeded to paint right over with my not-so-diligent application of wall color), buy an ottoman, move clothes and furniture in there.

Stay tuned for photos of the finished product!

One Response to “Closet Ambition: Chapter 2”

  1. Heather February 1, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    It looks awesome!! Aw, I love dads. I can’t wait to come inspect it up close and personally!

Leave a Reply

