Closet Ambition: Final Chapter

2 Feb

I have finally reached the conclusion of my first home renovation project. In less than 3 weeks, I took my closet from a dumping ground of my extra items:

And turned it into a dressing room fit for any young single woman:

I managed to successfully complete this project for $200. The budget includes paint, paint supplies, hardware for closet rods, and additional closet furniture, that I managed to successfully justify in my own mind. My boyfriend didn’t understand my buying the stool for the closet. How can any dressing room exist without a seat? That’s my justification. Logic. Pure logic.

I used the lower of the two permanent shelves to store my shoes, which I keep in individual plastic boxes. It keeps my footwear organized and with the clear packaging, it’s easy to see which pair is which. Oh, ha! I forgot to remove a sticker from one of them. Always a work in progress, eh?

Next I added a night stand that I was just storing in the closet before. I can use it to store scarves and other items that I may not want hanging out in the closet. Adding a mini dress form my grandmother bought me about 8 years ago, a framed piece of wrapping paper, and two books by Kate Spade (a gift from my Aunt B.) gave the night stand a bit of decor without crowding the top.

One thing I love to have out are my belts. Not because they are cute decor (because they really aren’t), but I often forget I own them unless they are out in my face. However, finding a way to tastefully display them was a challenge. I have these pant hangers from Real Simple, which hinge out to make hanging the belts super easy. Hooking the pant hangers over the wall trim puts the items out on display and keeps them from being in the way. I’ll update on how this works as I actually use my little invention.

Lastly, as I mentioned earlier, I succumbed to my own peer pressure and bought myself a little stool for my closet. I won’t bother to justify why I bought it – I could come up with all kinds of things, like I wanted a place to sit to put on my shoes. But ladies never sit down to put on shoes. We stand and wobble until the shoe is on. Let’s just say I wanted a stool for my closet – and I have no better reason than that. Oh, and the one I found was on sale. I also added some fashion magazines in magazine holders next to the stool just for kicks.

I am sure I will fine tune things in the closet as time goes on, but I’m incredibly happy (and proud!) with the end result, and can’t wait to use it on a daily basis. Already the space makes it easer to get ready in the morning and makes me feel just a little glamorous. I think we could all use a bit more of that day to day.

3 Responses to “Closet Ambition: Final Chapter”

  1. Heather February 2, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Wow, this is incredible, E!! It makes me want to ensure there’s a separate little room in the next place we live JUST so you can help me turn it into something like this. I LOVE the dress form (to show off one ensemble at a time and get you in the “mood”) as well as the stool. I agree. Dressing rooms should have a stool. Then you can feel like you’re trying on clothes in an expensive boutique IN YOUR OWN HOME. 🙂 I absolutely love it.

  2. Jackie February 2, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Oh my God the closet is so darling! You did an amazing job. I’m having total closet envy right now. It makes me long for my own closet since sharing with my fiance who has way to much clothes for a man is no fun. Great job Erin!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Workspace Challenge: Accepted « teal and tulle - July 12, 2011

    […] The last time Fiance wondered if I was going to follow-through on my verbal home project promise, I did this. […]

Leave a Reply

