Freda

3 Feb

Since I have started my blog, I have learned a few things about myself:

1.I will have to learn more embroidery stitches if I plan to keep featuring my work.

2.I might have to learn how to sew. Dammit.

3.I need more closet space (I did successfully cure that problem!)

But here is what is most important:

4. I am terrible at taking photos of myself.

Part of the idea of my blog is to share fun, creative and affordable ways of being fashionable. Of course, this requires photographic evidence of my concepts. I thought, “how hard can this be?” I follow blogs where girls are photographed showing their own collaborations and ideas.

I miscalculated.

Finding furniture tall enough to hold a wobbling camera, working the timer and getting a pose that isn’t downright mortifying is a challenge. Out of about 20 photos I attempted to take  last week to feature an outfit, only one was remotely acceptable. And in that I either had a shadow on my neck or a second chin. Please let it be a shadow.

All this confirmed what I already knew – I needed a cohort. A nonspeaking, non-judging, preferably headless cohort. Enter my new muse, Freda. Freda is a dress form from Singer that I can dress up to my heart’s content. I have set her to my measurements, so how things fits on Freda are exactly how they would fit (or sometimes, sadly, not fit) on me. What an acceptable way to have fun with dress-up as a grown-up.

Work it, Freda. Own that LOFT blouse!

Best part? Freda is photogenic. The headless part may have something to do with that.

Ahoy! A cute blouse from Ann Taylor.

Anchor's Away! This necklace was $1.50 from Forever21.

4 Responses to “Freda”

  1. Jackie February 14, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Um. I LOVE that striped shirt. Probably the reason I own three! Freda looks great! I’m catching up on all my blogs since I’ve been so behind! I love them!

  2. Jasmine February 3, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    I’m obsessed with the anchor necklace Freda is sporting! MUST HAVE MUST HAVE!
    Luv the blog E, keep it up!

  3. Betty Glantz February 3, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    That does it! I’m getting a Freda for myself. What better way to see how an outfit will look on you, with accessories yet! I love it!

  4. Heather February 3, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    I want a Freda! She is so fashionable. I also love your heading, it looks great!

Leave a Reply

