RIP Army Blouse and Other Mistakes

3 Feb

On the eve of my weekend getaway, I made a clothing-care ‘boo-boo.’ It reminded me that over the past several years, I have made missteps in figuring out what style is and what my look should be. And once you get there, how to care for those items! Here are three things I’ve learned within the past 2.5 years. Of course, I have made dozens of mistakes, these three are just some that have been at the forefront of my mind for one reason or another. I fancy this may be a repeat blog topic as my memory reminds me of other accidents and ill-fated incidents.

1. Throwing a clothing item that does not belong in the dryer into the dryer. I tossed my 100% Rayon, army green, darling dress tank with brass-diamond-shaped details around the neckline, into the dryer. Not only did the item shrink, it completely distorted the fabric. What a rookie mistake! My blouse now resides in the garbage can, unfit for use.

Lesson learned: Don’t rush the care of your favorite pieces, no matter how much you want to wear them in Vegas. RIP Army Blouse. I hope your new life at the dump is nice.

2. Not being clear with the hairstylist. In 2008 blunt bangs were the rage. My inner 13-year-old wanted to be included, so I went down to have blunt bangs cut into my do. Apparently I wasn’t clear with my stylist and she gave me bangs suitable for a 3-year-old. So short they were, I couldn’t hide them behind headbands, barrettes or torn swathes of fabric a-la-Rambo. I was forced to suffer for a few months before the bangs settled into something more age and style appropriate.

Lesson learned: For the love of God, bring photographic examples. We all know what they say about a picture’s w0rth. Stop them if it isn’t going in the direction you like. Go back after if it doesn’t work. You are the one walking around with the style on your head, make sure it is what you asked for.

3. Throwing away clothes that are timeless pieces. Notice how denim jackets are back in style? Where’s mine? Oh, at the Goodwill in Burlingame, where I disposed of it in 2009. I was pretty certain that denim jackets weren’t going to come back (hello, 1999 AND 2005 were oh-ver!), so I donated mine to the local secondhand shop. Fool I am. This past season features denim jackets back in force… and more expensive than ever.

Lesson learned: Unless you are willing to eat crow, never toss out something that is a classic. Straight-legged jeans (one style that will always remain, whether pant legs go wide or narrow), a denim jacket, good boots, belts, and brooches are all items to keep. And if they are quality pieces, you can keep them for years and years.

Yes. I was not kidding about the bangs. This is after two months of growth, where they were barely acceptable. Mortifying. Fall 2008.

4 Responses to “RIP Army Blouse and Other Mistakes”

  1. Jackie February 14, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Okay I actually like you with bangs! But I see what you mean. Extreme hairstyles never work unless you are lady Gaga. I made the mistake with side bangs (the hairstylist was about 65 years old and I don’t think she knew what side bangs were). Needless to say I had a chunk of hair cut short on the side of my head. Ta da! “side bangs”

    Great advice blog! I also have made the mistake of drying clothes that should be hand wash only. Needless to say, the clothing either fell apart or turned into a new car wash rag.

  2. Jasmine February 9, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Erin, you can pull off any look! The picture with the bangs is pretty darn cute, like Heather said. I think you’d look hot with a faux hawk if you decided to do it! haha

  3. Heather February 4, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I was about to comment on how I LOVE your bangs… I thought that might be a new pic! 😉 After the growout you were a bombshell, as always. (I’d love to see pics of the right-after-salon look… those short bangs really only work on the rock-a-billy hipsters, no?) Hilarious! I’ve made each one of these mistakes as well. (Although I did hold on to my GAP overalls from 1998… when are those coming back?!?!?)

    • tealandtulle February 6, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

      I wish (now) that I had a photo of the bangs immediately after the cut, but I was adamant about not being photographed until my hairstyle resembled something more socially acceptable! And yes, if I were a “suicide girl” as the phrase is, then the short bangs would’ve been perfect!

Leave a Reply

