A Hazy Shade of…Summer?

9 Feb

Call it global warming, a fluke weather pattern or luck, all of us in CA are experiencing a reprieve from winter. Even though I’m missing the rainy weather we normally get in February, I also am not foolish enough to miss a good opportunity when I see one. And this opportunity is good weather.

With temperatures in the 60s or better, I have the chance to wear some of my warmer-weather favorites and unveil a new piece or two. Those who live in California know that you dress for the weather, not for the seasons. I’ve experienced entire summers in 57 degree foggy weather.

Here I’m featuring two of my favorites – one is an oldie I’ve worn several times, one is a new item that I haven’t been able to wear yet (it was weather permitting).

The dress I bought at Forever 21 early last summer. I enjoy the mixture of colors, and how easily the blues pair with camel colors. I enjoy wearing it with thick or thin belts, chunky gold jewelry, navy tights, and changing out the shoes from boots to chunky sandals to glossy blue flats.

This navy sweater, a Nordstrom find, has been a staple of my wardrobe for the past year.

This skirt and blouse combo is something I’ve been itching to wear for months. I bought this skirt last Autumn at Forever 21 (I’m noticing a trend here) and knew it would match nicely with this satiny blouse I bought at Express about 3-4 years ago. I love the rushing of fabric along the high waistline, and the flattering fullness of the skirt (which I usually don’t pull off well because of my height – 5’4″ – and hourglass figure). The abstract pattern is completely me, and I feel pretty damn chic in the outfit too. I’m wearing this ensemble at work today (with tights, because I’m a weather wimpie).

A $19 find from Forever 21! If you have the patience and time, sometimes treasures are uncovered.

How do you dress to enjoy the weather?

3 Responses to “A Hazy Shade of…Summer?”

  1. Jackie February 14, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    I finally read your post and it’s raining out. Goodbye summer weather! Regardless I find that I get frustrated with skirts. I can’t seem to find skirts that don’t either make me look short and squat or like a $5 hooker. The key is dresses! I better stock up now before they get expensive for summer. Great post!

  2. tealandtulle February 9, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    I like the sound of that, Jasmine! I can always get behind a good pedicure. 🙂

  3. Jasmine February 9, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    This post made me really sit back and appreciate the weather we are having. I’ve been so busy, I forgot to stop and bask in the sun!

    I’m ready for a pedicure and some skirt action!

Leave a Reply

