That’s a-Mighty-a-Meatball!

11 Mar

I have a handful of small kitchen appliances that I endearingly love. However, if it were legal to marry one, I would pick my slow cooker.

Hey there, good lookin'

What other appliance can you give a few instructions to in the morning, and when you get home that evening, dinner is in the kitchen, hot and simmering and ready for you, without the house having burned down?

The slow-cooker is the 21st Century gal’s best tool. Between work, exercise, boyfriend, friends, family and other commitments, actually finding the time to prepare a delicious dinner is challenging, if not completely unfeasible.

I’ve decided to expand my blog to include some of my go-to recipes, which are usually built around things you have on hand, and can either work in a pinch or in the slow cooker while you are out doing better things.

Now, onto the actual point of this blog – the recipe for Erin’s Turkey Meatballs. These meatballs are great on their own as snacks or appetizers, or will add some umph to any spaghetti dish.

Erin’s Turkey Meatballs

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lbs of ground turkey

1 1/4 cups of seasoned bread crumbs

1/4 cup of chopped fresh parsley (Don’t have fresh parsley? Downsize the measurement and add dried parsley instead)

2 gloves garlic, minced

1/3 cup onion, diced

1 egg, beaten

1 16 oz can of crushed tomatoes

Β 

The required egg for this recipe was being a diva, so it wasn't in the photo.

Preparation:

Mix all above ingredients together, except for crushed tomatoes.

Shape mixture into meatballs of your desired size and place into slow cooker. It’s ok if they sit on top of one another.

Pour can of crushed tomatoes over meatballs.

Plug in slow cooker and set for low. Cook for 6-8 hours. Go shopping. Have some frozen yogurt downtown. Road trip to SF, shop at Therapy, then drive back. Whatever you want to do for the next 6-8 hours. Or work. Whatever.

Serve however you wish. That option also includes standing over your slow cooker eating the meatballs by yourself. Just don’t eat all of them at one standing. Self control, people. Self control.

4 Responses to “That’s a-Mighty-a-Meatball!”

  1. tealandtulle March 11, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Gals – I swear by the slow-cooker. I also utilize the McCormick’s seasoning packets you can buy at the store. I have made pulled pork sandwiches, beef stroganoff and roast beef – all based on the easy instructions and ingredients provided by the sauce packets. All of which are easy and have gotten rave reviews from Steve. πŸ™‚

    @Jackie – I’m waiting to actually cook the quiche so I can take photos to document it! Coming soon.

  2. Jackie March 11, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    YAY! I’m so excited you are adding recipes. Next you should show how you make your famous quiche! Yum.

    I used to have a slow cooker (and rice maker) and somehow lost both. I’m realizing how much easier my life would be to have dinner ready when I’m done with work and networking and softball at 8pm and need to eat before I pass out.

  3. Heather March 11, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Yum! I’ll definitely add this to our rotation. Perfect for softball game days. πŸ˜‰

  4. Betty Glantz March 11, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    Sounds delicious! Can’t wait to try your recipe.

Leave a Reply

