Ideas Abound, On A Board

31 Mar

I’ve taken on a new living space project.

Who has two thumbs and wants a little work station? This girl!

If your boyfriend laughs at you when you ask him to take a photo of you for the blog, ask your dad. Not only will he comply, he won't ask questions, and his direction will be "Annnnd - PONDER!"

Here’s my vision – I’ll have an idea board on the wall, with a small desk below, organized all cute with storage items from See Jane Work.

So, while my neat storage bins are on order, I have no desk to speak of, and a blank wall, where does a girl start?

With the idea board!

I took an old corkboard I had for photos from college, stripped it down to basics.

 

Can you tell this corkboard led a hard life in my parent's garage until I rescued it in the early 2000s?

I then went to Birch Fabrics in Paso Robles for fabric inspiration. This place carries the hippest, chicest, stylish fabrics you could possibly find between the Golden Gate and the dirty beast that is LA. This little shop will inspire great things in you, crafting ideas will take shape and you may even manage to believe you too can sew that apron on the wall. Even if you can’t handle a Singer. Or even know what a Singer is.

 

*Twirls glue gun * Go ahead. Make. My. Day.

Anyway, if you are a Glue-Gunning-Toting-Annie-Oakley-crafter, like I am, then you’ll be able to find plenty of crafts to satiate your creative appetite. Yet again, I digress.

So, after ripping up the old fabric, I laid out the new fabric purchased. It’s this really fun green wood pattern. The modern, strong look of the fabric is countered by the satin ruffle edging I bought at Beverly’s for only 99 cents a yard.

 

Is a ruffle just as sweet if it's in Emo Black?

Gluing down the fabric is easy, trimming the excess fabric once glued can prove challenging. I used an Exact-o knife, a paring knife from my own collection and a pair of past-their-prime-scissors, but still wasn’t able to get it perfect. But that’s where the ribbon on the edges comes in handy! It tidies up the look of the board and masks any mis-cuts or gluing accidents that may have occurred during assembly.

My other walls are green with envy

Now with the board complete and hanging on the wall, to complete it, I recycle my tack buttons from the old board. These are exceptionally easy to create. Buy buttons at a local craft shop and glue flat tacks to the backs. An easy and decorative way to tack my ideas or on-going projects on the board!

Cute as a .... eh, you know.

5 Responses to “Ideas Abound, On A Board”

  1. Bill April 4, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    What a great idea for a craft project, but I’m a little concerned about you using a hot glue gun!
    You should post photos of your dad (if you find out who he is) on the board…

  2. Heather March 31, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    That board is awesome! So is this in your apartment or will it be a special nook in the office? I also LOVE that your dad took the pic for you. Yet another reason on our infinite list of why our dads RULE.

    • tealandtulle March 31, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

      It will be in my apartment. Where that red cabinet of cookbooks was. I moved that cabinet into the kitchen and will use that wall space in the dining room to create a little work space. I can’t wait for it to be set!

  3. Jackie March 31, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Okay not only do I love the adorable green artwork, I love this adorably witty post! You make me “lol” at work.

    • tealandtulle March 31, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

      I’m glad to do what I can! Is it sad that I go back and read my own blogs and LOL myself?

Leave a Reply

