Say It With A Card – Easter Edition

5 Apr

Over the past two weeks, I have been fervently searching for cards to send to my family for Easter.

So, imagine my dismay when I went to Borders, multiple Hallmarks, Papyrus, and local card shops, just to find that the cards were expensive (sometimes up to $6 or more!) or just vomit-inducing-cheesey. I don’t want the card to sing, I don’t want to record a message, and I definitely don’t want the card to convey some lengthy-a-la-Jack-Handy-poem. I just want something simple to lets folks know I’m thinking of them.

Up in arms, I mentioned my quandary to my good friend, Jackie, yesterday. She suggested such a simple solution; make your own! How could a crafter like me overlook this great solution?

Oh, I almost forgot. I have avoided making my own cards since the incident that I like to call the “Great Holiday Card Debacle of 2010.” Time to settle in for a little blog digression.

I thought I could make my own Christmas cards. I bought patterned paper, shape cutters, cards and envelopes, all the fixin’s for cute, unique, homemade cards from my local Michael’s. Fifty dollars and four hours later, the end result was a big mess in my boyfriend’s den (I only do this when he travels so I don’t scare him). Cards had awkward cutouts of uneven trees, glitter sprinkled on the cat’s head, chunks of glue stick oozing out the sides of the paper shapes, gathering lint and cat hair. This definitely wasn’t what I envisioned. I eventually succumbed to the typical Christmas spirit and bought my cards.

Anyway, I figured after Jackie’s suggestion I could give it a try. But, instead of cutting out shapes in colorful paper like a 6-year-old, I would embroider my cards. I came home and promptly got to work.

 

The incredible, stitchable egg.

First I cut out an egg shape from cardstock, so I could trace the shape  on my cards. From there, I punched holes along the egg shapes to make stitching easier.

My sophisticated tools. A pen, my cardstock egg, and a thumb tack.

Then, for each egg, I stitched whatever patterns and stitches I wanted to do, all in pastels.

A semi-action shot of my stitching.

The first card went so smoothly, that I decided to make another!

First card, finished!

These cards are really egging me on. No, really. They are.

I then got daring with the third card, creating a flower pattern with the lazy daisy and fern stitches.

So far, I have three cards finished. This project was not only quick (I finished three cards in less than 90 minutes), it was very affordable, and offers the personalized touch that I love.

Voila!

4 Responses to “Say It With A Card – Easter Edition”

  1. Heather April 5, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    LOVE!!

  2. Jess April 5, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    These are so cute! Good suggestion Jackie too! 10 points for the Jack Handy reference as well 🙂

  3. Jackie April 5, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Thanks for the props on your blog Erin! I have to say the stitched cards turned out pretty cute! To be honest, I never keeps the cards people send me beyond a week but with an adorable homemade card like this! Well, I can see keeping it forever!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Say It With A Card: Mother’s Day Edition « teal and tulle - May 9, 2011

    […] the less than ideal sketch, I proceeded with stitching. As I did with the Easter cards, I poked holes along the lines with a thumb tack (much easier on your thumb and patience than […]

Leave a Reply

