It’s a Cinch

29 Apr

So, tonight I have a big date night. Since Boyfriend will be on the Mississippi river playing “Caught in a Trap” via jug blowing and washboard strumming (I’m pretty sure this is considered sophisticated entertainment in Tennessee), I acquired two lovely girls to be my dates to this event (maybe 3 if I woo my friend Jackie away from her fiance).

How does one treat two (or three) friends who happily accepted your proposal? With a corsage, of course. God, didn’t you learn ANYTHING from high school?

So, I set out to make my own.

What you need to make a ribbon corsage:

1. Elastic fabric to act as the bracelet

2. Wired satin ribbon

3. Your Annie-get-your-glue-gun

4. Scissors

5. Buttons

6. A workspace. I like my ironing board. It’s high so I can stand while I work.

7. A really good crime show for background fodder. Like “The Investigators” or “Forensic Files.” I watched one where a mom ‘lost’ her baby and then partied for a month before reporting her missing. That really kept me trucking along.

Now, it’s time to settle in and work.

Step 1: Make your ribbon flower

Start with about a foot of the wired satin ribbon. Either find a piece of wire sticking out or use your scissors to trim around until the wire is exposed. On the other end of the same wired edge, roll it up so the wire doesn’t tug completely out.

Take the exposed wire, and start to pull. You’ll notice the ribbon starts to gather along the wire. Move the ribbon along, pulling at the wire at the same time. Make sure the opposite end piece of wire doesn’t start to come out. The ribbon will naturally start to curl into itself and make a rose-like shape.

The tugging of the wire causes the ribbon to curl into itself. Magic!

Heat up your Annie-get-your-glue-gun, and place dots of glue in strategic places to hold your newly formed flower in place. Trim off any loose treads and the now long-exposed wire. Your flower is complete.

Holding the wire before trimming it off. It won't unravel when you cut the wire. Scout's honor.

By the way, I was never a cub scout. So any promises I made are up for debate. Now let's make some more!

Step 2: Make the bracelet

Take the elastic fabric and measure for appropriate wrist size.

Stretchy lace ribbon from Beverly's. $2.49 a yard. One yard yields at least 4-5 bracelets.

Cut the fabric and adhere together with your Annie-get-your-glue-gun.

Done.

Step 3: Assemble

Take where you glued your bracelet together, and place a dollop of hot glue on top. Set your fabric flower over that (which covers up any imperfections) and hold in place until set.

Use a button to cover any gaping holes or folds in the fabric that look awkward.

You now have a fabric corsage for your good friends. Please do not be alarmed when everyone will proceed to be wildly jealous.

The one with the gray button is mine. Because it's the ugly one. The crafter always gets the reject.

2 Responses to “It’s a Cinch”

  1. Jess May 2, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    My heart belongs to you FOREVER. I plan on treasuring my corsage till the end of time. ❤

  2. Jackie April 29, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    You wooed me with these cute corsages! You really are a craft master. Just the wire ribbon part confused me (as I am about as crafty as Kraft Mac & Cheese) but I can appreciate other people with craft skills. I pledge my love to thee (sorry Tyler).

Leave a Reply

