That 70s Show

3 May

Last Friday I decided I was long overdue for a mini shopping trip. I dropped into Urban Outfitter’s after being lured in by a new dress in a window.

Once inside, I decided that I need to not buy dresses or skirts, but more tops.

Allow me to back-up. In April, I read a great article by Real Simple magazine that explored how to build a wardrobe. Amongst their many pieces of advice, one was that a person should have a ratio of multiple tops to fewer bottoms. The idea is that people really only remember items from the waist up (I would assume unless you have a realy statement piece below) and that bottoms are more basic building pieces. Makes sense if you wear a lot of jeans, slacks or basic skirts.

After reading the article, I realized my closet balance (chi, feng shui, whatever) is off, which helped me justify my shopping trip to UO.

Here I, or Freda for that matter, features two of those tops. Coincidentally, they do have a certain 1970s feel to them… and since I’ve been parting my hair down the middle of late, maybe I’m going for a new look. Or an old look. Whatever.

Paired with other items gives this tank a nautical feel. We all know how much I like the nautical look.

Who has two thumbs and a mom who found her GAP denim jacket, circa 2005? *points thumbs at self* "This girl!"

2 Responses to “That 70s Show”

  1. Jess May 5, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    I’m IN LOVE with those tanks. You might have a copy cat . . .

  2. Bill May 4, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    hey! I already own those two tops!

Leave a Reply

