Say It With A Card: Mother’s Day Edition

9 May

Ok, so it’s more ‘say it with a bookmark’ but that would put a kink in my on-going theme here.Work with me on this!

For Mother’s Day this year, I decided to take my mom to SF to watch Tales of the City: The Musical. A long favorite of ours, “Tales” is series of books that were written and take place in 1970s and 1980s San Francisco. Anyway, since it is really hard to ‘gift’ a print-out confirmation of ticket purchase, I had to come up with another solution.

Idea? Bookmark of SF – stitched by yours truly.

First, I started with sketching out San Francisco – a few of the buildings, the Marina greens and a piece of the Golden Gate. For anyone who knows my level of drawing abilities, it’s limited to:

Self Portrait

What I came up with for the bookmark isn’t much better, but it’ll do:

Lots of erase marks.

Despite the less than ideal sketch, I proceeded with stitching. As I did with the Easter cards, I poked holes along the lines with a thumb tack (much easier on your thumb and patience than poking holes with your stitching needle) and did a back stitch, which was the easiest on the cardstock material.

Once completed, I folded the paper in half, whipped out my Annie-Get-Your-Glue-Gun, glued a ribbon coming out of one end, and placed strategic dollops of glue in the corners of the bookmark to hold it in place.

Now, instead of looking like a drawing completed by a 4 year old, it looks like stitches completed by a blind plastic surgeon. Success!

Mother’s Day gift ready for giftage. Yup, I just made that word up.

Bam!

9 Responses to “Say It With A Card: Mother’s Day Edition”

  1. Mom May 14, 2011 at 2:33 am #

    The photo does not do the bookmark justice. One of the most beautiful gifts I have ever received. I am actually going to copy one of Erin’s earlier projects -the green/black trimmed display board – to show off this wonderful gift.

    • tealandtulle May 16, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

      I’m glad you liked it, Mom. It was a fun gift to make, and hopefully one you can enjoy. Just don’t look too closely to the top of the Embarcadero building, where the floor is slightly askew. 🙂

      – E

  2. Bill May 10, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Another Great Idea! Good Job

  3. Heather May 9, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    This is so cute! I love your sketch, you could be a professional city skyline artist!

  4. Betty May 9, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    So creative and cute!!

  5. Jess May 9, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    This is too cute! I request a lesson so that I can be like you 🙂

  6. Jackie May 9, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    The bookmark is SUCH a cute idea. I wish I’d done one for my mom for mother’s day since she is quite the reader!

    • tealandtulle May 10, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      Maybe for your mom’s birthday? We can stitch her a piece of white cake.

Leave a Reply

