Mix ‘n’ Match

13 May

While I enjoy fashion trends as much as the next person, ideas or concepts will come along that I have a hard time wrapping my head around. Granted, different styles are meant for different people, but there are times I will waffle between absurdity and creativity. So, I’ll let you, trusty readers, help me suss this one out.

Mixing and Matching patterns is a popular look right now. One of my favorite bloggers, Jessica Quirk, who blogs What I Wore has done it a few times. One was a feline theme and another was a blue spring combo. I feel she’s managed this with mixed success.

Another blogger, Anh of 9to5Chic, put together floral and gingham here.

After seeing this trend in magazines and other blogs, I decided to give it a whirl today. Here’s what I put together:

Hip & Trendy?

Frankly, in wearing this outfit today, I feel more like an extra on “The Big Bang Theory” and less like a fabulous fashionista.

If you think mixing and matching works – what do you think the rules are? Or are there no rules? Thoughts?

4 Responses to “Mix ‘n’ Match”

  1. Jackie May 16, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    I see what you mean. It ALMOST works but as “dressingmyself” said, there needed to be a little more match, a little less mix.

    Not that I can give the best advice being that I tend to not match by accident!

    • tealandtulle May 16, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

      Agreed! I took the same cardigan and paired it with a oatmeal color tank, which has oatmeal and cream lace on the bust. It was a mix and match combo that worked MUCH better.

  2. dressingmyself May 13, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    I like all the items in this outfit, but in my opinion you have introduced too many different colours.
    I think it would have worked better if the belt had matched one of the colours in the dress.
    Of course, others may differ – that’s what I love about fashion.

    • tealandtulle May 13, 2011 at 9:24 am #

      Yes – I think you are right. While the dress has the same navy that is in the cardigan, I think the dress is too heavy with colors to create an coordination with a different pattern. Thanks for the feedback!

Leave a Reply

