Tape Me Up, Scotchy!

16 May

I don’t have many professional make-up tricks. I pretty much got by on a tutorial I received from Clinque in downtown San Francisco when I was 14. Of course, back then I had persistent acne, a face still plagued with baby fat and bangs. So the beautician had her work cut out for her.

Over the years, I have found ways to work around my shortcomings.

  • I use a green color-corrective below my foundation, to help ease the ruddiness in my face.
  • I apply my eye-shadow with my fingers, as opposed to using a brush.
  • I dip my liner brush in water before dipping a thin brush in the color to line my eyes. This is a much easier technique than using actual eye-liner. That requires the hand control of a surgeon. I can barely brush my hair without bodily injury, so actual eye liner is out.

But, I do have one specific make-up trick that gets me out of a pinch every time. No matter if I apply my eye-shadow with a brush or my finger, it is inevitable that I get a dusting of shadow below my eyes.

My old method was attempting to wipe it away, which would only rub it in and give me dark circles under my eyes. No amount of concealer or foundation over that would correct the problem.

A few years ago, I decided to use Scotch tape.

My shadow kit.

Here’s how it works:

1. After I finish my eye make-up, I take a small amount of Scotch tape and lay it right under my eye, lightly, directly over where the shadow crumbs landed.

2. When I pull the tape off, it removes all the shadow that is resting under it. For the most part, the foundation or concealer will stay in place. It might take a tiny bit of retouch, but it’s a heck of a lot easier than trying to undo the mess of shadow you would otherwise have there.

Now shadow up and get out there!

4 Responses to “Tape Me Up, Scotchy!”

  1. Nicole May 16, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    This is genius! Seriously! I use a dark grey/almost black eye shadow and apply it with a teeny tiny brush, as eyeliner to my top lid & get the dusting of grey crumbles on my cheek! I brush them away leaving what looks like a black eye behind. Every. Single. Day. Thank you for this magnificent information! 🙂

    • tealandtulle May 16, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

      I wear the same shadows, especially in the evenings. No matter what I would do, I’d end up with a black dusting under my eye – which is impossible to wipe away without a residue behind. I’m glad you liked the tip – I also like using tape b/c I imagine it’s easier on the under-eye skin than rubbing it to oblivion. 🙂

  2. Jackie May 16, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Okay the title of your blog today made me lol. I also feel your pain about the bangs issue in jr. High. I had bangs (they were cut by my mom enough said).

    Your scotch tape idea is GENIUS! I’m going to try it tomorrow morning. I too suffer from eye shadow “dark circle” smudges. I also have issues with eyeliner. I also have a sallow skin tone that sucks up all makeup on my face so that after about 10 minutes I have ZERO color and only a jaundice yellow tint to show for it.

    • tealandtulle May 16, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      I had bangs that I was in full management of, and would curl on a regular basis. I have the hair burn marks on the curling iron for proof. You might find a skin primer to color correct your tone at Sephora – but I also know that Real Simple just had an article with good (and cheaper) alternatives from your local drug store. I’ll look those up and send you some names.

Leave a Reply

