Pie – Dessert of the Upper Crust

25 May

The other week, I was at one of my favorite places, the grocery store.

What? You don’t love the grocery store? It’s an entire store dedicated to food. Of COURSE I love it. 

Anyway, I was at the store, and noticed they had rhubarb on sale. I had the sudden urge to buy it, along with strawberries and try a very retro treat – strawberry rhubarb pie.

The elusive rhubarb. In it's natural state.

What is rhubarb, you ask? Hell if I know. Even at the store, the clerk and I shrugged over whether it is a root, a stem, whatever. It’s an interesting food – ranging from green to a vibrant red.

After Googling rhubarb, I’ve learned it is a “thick leaf stalks of a cultivated plant of the dock family, which are reddish or green and eaten as a fruit after cooking.”

Well, that’s thrilling. Moving on.

Back home, I whip out (because all actions in the kitchen are of the high volatility kind) my grandmother’s family cookbook, which I borrowed 1.5 years ago in a feeble attempt to build a digital family cookbook. I’ve since started one page. I swear I’ll finish it this year.

It's a cornucopia of recipes! *gasp!*

In the cookbook, I found my great grandmother’s, whom we called Nana, recipe for rhubarb strawberry pie. I gave it a whirl, adding a teaspoon of cinnamon, reducing the sugar just a bit, and exchanging prepared pie crust for the original homemade pastry, and came up with a delicious treat.

Nana’s Rhubarb Strawberry Pie

Ingredients:

1 box of pie crust, which has two rolled up pastries. I like Pillsbury, but tried out this organic version and it tasted great!

1 lb rhubarb, scrubbed and chopped

2 pints of strawberries, scrubbed and chopped

1/4 cup flour

3/4 cup of sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

2 TBSP butter or reduced fat butter spread

Fruit + Sugar = Delicious in my Mouth

Preparation:

Heat oven to 375 degrees.

Unroll pie pastry and place one in pie dish.

Mix rhubarb, strawberries, sugar, flour, cinnamon and salt

Pour fruit mixture into pie crusted dish

Take pieces of butter and dollop on top of fruit mixture

Don't eat rhubarb before you bake it. It tastes like celery. Which is gross.

Unroll second pie pastry and cover fruit mixture. Pierce crust for ventilation and seal around the edges.

Set prepared pie on top of a cookie sheet or pizza pan. This will prevent any pie filling leaks from dribbling in the oven (saves you serious clean-up)

Getting to the heart of the matter - ventilating your pie crust. Jump past the "Tips" to see finished product!

Bake for 50 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

Tips:

1. Brush pie crust top with egg white for a glistening pastry when finished

2. Get creative with pie crust top by cutting out ventilation with cookie cutters, etc.

3. Put foil over cookie sheet or pizza pan to further protect from any filling spillage. That way you just have to toss (or better yet, recycle) the foil when the pie is finished, and your sheet is untarnished.

These tips get your pie to this point. Which, if you pinch your nose while you chew, is almost edible.

6 Responses to “Pie – Dessert of the Upper Crust”

  1. Jess May 26, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    I would punch someone in the face for a piece of this.

    Also, hearts as ventilation? ADORABLE.

  2. Jackie May 26, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    I had NO IDEA that Rhubarb could look so good! This post made me laugh and get hungry at the same time!

  3. Steve May 26, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    Amazing and delicious! My new favorite desert!

  4. Bill May 26, 2011 at 7:02 am #

    Great job!

    Looks yummy, when do I get some?

  5. Nicole May 25, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    I love this! It’s so cute and adorable I kind of want to hug it, which would be bad for my shirt but make me really happy at the same time. YAY for hearts. ON. the. pie.

    • tealandtulle May 25, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      You can also use cookie cutouts to make cute shapes in your pie crust – but I am packing to move, so I had to cut out hearts by hand. I would say it ended with mixed success. 🙂

Leave a Reply

