Sewing is SEW Fun (2)

10 Jun

Summary:

Up to this point, I learned how to work the sewing machine, how to measure out my fabric, and how to basically stitch one fabric on top of another. Today’s post is about assembling the braid and creating cording.

Sewing is SEW Fun! Post 2:

After I sewed the front of my pillow together, it was time to add the braid around the edges of the patterned fabric. Not only is the braid a nice decorative piece, it hides your stitches. First we measured and pinned the braid onto the fabric.

Those pins hurt if you interact with them on the wrong edge.

Then I got to work stitching the braid onto the fabric. I had to do this twice – once on the exterior of the braid, and again on the interior of the braid.

Action shot.

I would say the most difficult part of this process was handling the corners. You had to tuck the corners a certain way each time, and I only got one correct. Luckily Gram didn’t mind showing me again. And again. And again.

Sometimes it was easier for Gram to correct the corners herself.

It's hard to see, but the braid is in place.

Once the braid was on, it was time to create the cording. The cording was going to be made from the patterned fabric, just as a nice decorative touch to the pillow.

Bits and pieces.

Gram even had special instructions on how to make your own cording – and she swears she hasn’t come across anything that explains it as well since. Where are the directions from, you ask? The May 1956 issue of Better Homes & Gardens.

Making cording since before my dad was born!

Anyway, Gram cut down the fabric and pinned it together so it would be a continuous length of fabric to stitch around the cording. The last step of the aforementioned instructions had been lost, so Gram winged the last portion of it.

She knows her way around a workshop!

Once the fabric had been assembled, we folded it over the cording and I stitched it all together.

It doesn't look like much now, but will be nice trim on the pillow once finished. I promise!

Once the cording was complete, we were on the home stretch of finishing the pillow. But, that portion will be on Teal & Tulle’s next post. Don’t miss it!

Showing off our work so far.

6 Responses to “Sewing is SEW Fun (2)”

  1. Bill June 13, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    You’re lucky, I had to model some of Grams work when I was a wee young person

    • tealandtulle June 13, 2011 at 10:24 am #

      Oh no. I had dresses every Easter and Christmas for a strong 10 years running.

  2. Gram June 12, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Dear Erin: Who is that “old person” in our sewing room?
    What does she know about it?

    Love, Gram

    • tealandtulle June 12, 2011 at 11:46 am #

      Hi Gram!

      That would certainly be Roy’s words if he was there watching us sew!

      Love, E

  3. Jackie June 10, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    This project is so cute! Your gram is very skilled. I love how she has the 1956 issue of HOme and Garden as a reference. It’s a shame we aren’t taught to sew at a young age anymore. It’s really smart to learn as much as you can!

    • tealandtulle June 10, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

      Thanks! I can’t wait to feature my new pillows in my new house. I might just start carrying them around as conversation starters. Maybe I should’ve brought one to lunch today.

Leave a Reply

