Sewing is SEW Fun (3)

13 Jun

Summary:

So far, I learned how to work the sewing machine, how to measure out my fabric, and how to basically stitch one fabric on top of another. Then I assembled the braid and created cording. Today’s post – I’m assembling the cording and sewing the backside of the pillow to the front.

Sewing is SEW Fun! Post 3:

So, at this point, we were on the home stretch. We pinned the cording we created the day before to the front of the pillow. From there, I stitched the two items together, using one hand to guide the fabric and the other to hold the fabric as close to the needle and and foot as possible, to make sure there wasn’t any gap between the cording and the front pillow fabric.

Got the cording on without a hitch.

The final part was assembling the back pillow fabric to the front. This was a simple pinning of the two together – from the inside out. You pin the pillow fabric together with the exterior facing inward, then stitch together using the same method as attaching the cording. One hand to guide the material, the other hand pressing the fabric close to the needle and foot to ensure a tight stitch. Once you have gone around 3 sides, you are finished using the machine. You take your newly sewn pillow cover and pull it right-side out.

Almost throw pillow ready.

Easily, the most satisfying part was stuffing the pillow cover.

Stuff it real good. Plus, no one told me my necklace was on backwards.

Lastly, we stitched the opening of the pillow closed. Gram assured me this is a simple stitch, just like if I were embroidering. She showed me how to do it, and her stitches were seamless. My stitches looked like the closing sutures of Frankenstein’s monster’s last surgery. And I might have accidentally stitched it using navy blue thread. So don’t look at the pillow closely OR in good sunlight. If you can avoid both of those, then the pillow looks amazing.

The final Sewing is SEW Fun post will be about the second pillow I made and some things I learned about the whole process. 

Teacher and student. And my necklace is STILL backwards.

4 Responses to “Sewing is SEW Fun (3)”

  1. Bill June 16, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    FYI
    I like cookies

  2. Gram June 15, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Erin, our sewing lessosn was such fun! You took to it like a duck to water – amnazing for the very first time. Let’s do it again soon, Love Gram

  3. Jackie June 14, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    I would seriously BUY that pillow for $25. You and your grandma are so cute!!

  4. Jess June 13, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    This so awesome!! You amaze me 🙂

Leave a Reply

