Satiating Summer Salad

20 Jun

During my Sewing is So Fun trip to Gram’s, I volunteered to make dinner on my last night in town. The weather was warm, we didn’t want anything too involved, and something waist-line friendly. We decided to make a robust summer salad and enjoy our last night together. I pulled this together with a quick trip to the local grocery store, and was pleased that it turned out so well.

This meal is so easy anyone can do it. If you can chop ingredients with a knife and put said ingredients into a bowl, you are in business. Of course, I'm questionable at best when it comes to handling knives, so perhaps I'm the exception.

Erin’s Impromptu Satiating Summer Salad

Ingredients:

Butter lettuce

Green beans

Tomatoes

Green onion

Hearts of Palm

Chopped roasted chicken breast

Cooked, chopped red potatoes

Capers

Salt and Pepper

Light honey mustard dressing, on the side

Wash and pat dry so you don't eat bug poop.

Assembly:

I didn’t measure ingredients this time. I just cut and chopped and tossed items into the salad bowl until I was happy with the end result.The chicken was pre-cooked from a dinner the night before, and I prepped the potatoes in advance so they would have time to chill in the fridge.

The salad has enough going on where you’d never miss the dressing, but good to have for those who insist upon dressing their salads.

Serve salad with delicious Focaccia or other artisan bread.

Other items you could add: cucumber, avocado, garbanzo beans, Gorgonzola cheese.

I could eat hearts of palm to the point of illness. Which I more or less did while prepping the salad.

4 Responses to “Satiating Summer Salad”

  1. Gram June 20, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    That was the MOST delicious and hearty salad – sooo good, wish I had some for dinner tonight. Love to my great cook, Gram

  2. Jackie June 20, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    This is the perfect summer dish! I might have to make that for dinner this week once it gets hot outside!

  3. Nicole June 20, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    This looks delicious and I will make it and eat it ! I will! (husband might have to do the knife part) LOL.

Leave a Reply

