Well, Slap Me With Wallpaper and Call Me Crazy

5 Jul

As a renter, decorating a space can be limiting. You are relegated to colorful throw pillows, vibrant artwork and eye-catching knick-knacks. Very rarely do you feel comfortable (or you are allowed) to paint or otherwise decorate your actual walls.

Fiance and I have moved into a new home, and I have an entire room for my taking. Ok, it’s the guest room. Ok, it’s the closet within that guest room. but I still have an entire closet to build into a crafting area. So take that!

In a quest to find a new way to decorate my soon-to-be-crafting-corner (of which I have not posted about until now), I started to wonder if there is such a thing as removable wallpaper. I mean, they now have those cute wall decals, so why not complete sheets of the stuff?

And guess what?

Shermin Williams is ahead of me on this, as they have created true removable wallpaper. It’s called EasyChange and can be found here online.

I won’t lie, as we all know from our childhood, wallpaper can range from ‘ok’ to ‘I just messed myself from being sick.’

However, they do have some contenders that I am willing to consider, such as “Design By Color” or “Graham and Brown.” You can even order solid colors!

You have to buy two rolls at once, which are roughly priced from $20-$45 for individual rolls (you’ll pay twice that, since you have to purchase bundles of two rolls). Not bad, considering the paint and supplies you’d have to buy to cover the walls in non-deposit-refundable-decor-idea.

I’m just thankful that there’s another option out there for wall decor for us renters!

Freda threatens to start wearing sweats unless I do something with my craft space.

Thoughts?

5 Responses to “Well, Slap Me With Wallpaper and Call Me Crazy”

  1. Sheila July 5, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    One question… what is the surface of the existing wall? Ed and i did a couple wallpaper projects many years ago, and learned a tough lesson– the first project, our kitchen, we did correctly, ie we sanded and scraped the walls smooth before we papered– a nasty, dusty project that, but the end results were gorgeous. Then we went for the master bath and decided that the sanding step was too much of a pain….BIG mistake. We’d found a dark, flat, maroonish paper with a soft floral pattern that we figured would cover all flaws beneath. Nope– it was a horrible, bumpily, (my word), mess. In light low and high you could see the stucco-ish texture trying to break through the paper. That said, if your walls are smooth, I’d say go for the fun of a printed paper; if they are ‘bumpily’, stick with paint– it’s easy enough to repaint!

    • tealandtulle July 5, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      Hey Sheila! Good suggestions on taking into consideration the wall texture! I’ll have to take a look in the closet to see if this whole idea will really work. 🙂

  2. Jackie July 5, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    How cool! I wonder just how easy it is to peel off? Tyler and I are renters but didn’t care and painted everything anyway. I hoping the new tenants will like the colors and keep it so we don’t have to repaint!

    Freda looks cute in her pink dress. I hope she stays away from depression sweats!

    • tealandtulle July 5, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      I am wondering the same thing (about how easy it is to peel off). Apartment Therapy also blogged about this and said it is guaranteed to come off (now it’s a matter of whether it takes the wall with it!).

    • tealandtulle July 5, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

      I have a call in to Sherwin-Williams to see what their wallpaper expert has to say about the removable wallpaper. Will let you know what I find out!

Leave a Reply

