The (Ear)Ring of Truth

24 Jul

One of the great things about being a single girl is hanging your jewelry on the wall and calling it art. Carrie Bradshaw hung her “Carrie” necklace on her dressing table mirror as a cute accent when she wasn’t wearing it. And to a 22 year old woman living in SF, Carrie Bradshaw was considered the bonafide expert in all things chic and decor-acceptable in crappy pre-war apartments.

However, almost 7 years later, I now live with Fiance. As I don’t think airplane posters are art, Fiance doesn’t think jewelry on a wall displayed in a 24×36 vintage frame is art. So, I bought a cute, albeit much smaller, display that can hold all my necklaces. It’s a cozy fit, but it works.

However, this didn’t answer the question of what to do with my earrings.

I think these are all my complete earring sets. And is that a ring in the mix?

So, I was thinking about designing a small frame to sit on my desk where I could hang my earrings. By coincidence, I came across this from Real Simple Magazine.

I research organization tips in my free time. Photo courtesy Real Simple Magazine.

I decided this could easily be accomplished and pulled out all my tools.

Annie-Get-Your-Glue-Gun never misses a good home project.

I twisted eye-hooks behind the frame (I might have asked Fiance to finish off the last one because my fingertips were crippled by the end) and twisted the picture hanging wire on either end, to create a taut line to hang my dangle earrings. I created 3 rows, which seemed to suffice my collection.

My newest helper, Lula, points out where the last strip of wire will go.

Unfortunately, the wire cannot hold stud earrings. With that in mind, I upgraded my project to include a wide black ribbon (which I glued on) where I could punch the studs through to hold the earrings in place.

So far only one earring has fallen behind the dresser after being hung on the display. And that earring may have fallen 3 times.

Let’s see how long this lasts before I grow tired of rehanging my earrings after every wear.

Fiance’s final reaction? “Oh, that’s interesting.” I believe that is Fiance code for “Wow Erin, I cannot believe your creativity and ability to use things around the house for new purposes!”

8 Responses to “The (Ear)Ring of Truth”

  1. Gram July 28, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    Erin – living alone I don’t often get a chance to laugh out loud, but reading your comments sure does the trick! Thanks for starting my day off right! Gram

    • tealandtulle July 28, 2011 at 9:31 am #

      Gram!

      Making people laugh, above all else, is the best part about writing a blog. Thank you for making me feel successful! 😀

      – Erin

  2. Jackie July 26, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    I love this idea! I need to do something similar to my necklaces which are currently hanging from tacks in the bathroom. Not very chic!

    Lula might have a field day with all those temptingly hanging earrings!

    • tealandtulle July 26, 2011 at 8:52 am #

      Nice! If you get a bigger frame, Jackie – you could do the same thing for the necklaces that have clasps. Otherwise, I do have a white branch/leaves jewelry tree that I was going to give away…. would you want it?

  3. Mom July 26, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    I have a frame that I broke the glass the other day and had been ready to toss it out. I have all the material for the project, I now have something to do tonight during the pitching changes.

    • tealandtulle July 26, 2011 at 8:51 am #

      It was fun, quick project. And it doesn’t look 1/2 bad once on display. Great project for you and the kitties! Lucy will supervise.

  4. Meghan July 25, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    Cute Erin! You are so crafty. Hopefully Lula doesn’t think your creative design is fun to play with!

    • tealandtulle July 25, 2011 at 8:55 am #

      I know! Luckily she can’t jump high enough to get on the dresser yet… but we’ll see once that day comes!

Leave a Reply

