In The Fight Against Wall Nudity

16 Aug

Fiance and I have been living in our place for about 2 months now.

I will be honest…

Our condo has very little personality.Not any fault of ours. It was built in 2008, and is blandly recognizable for it’s white walls, white carpet and dull white wooden shades. No matter how much color we infuse into the place, It seems to come up lacking.

Our bedroom is the worst offender for blandness. We were coming up empty-handed for the past 8 weeks until I took a fateful trip to Birch Fabrics yesterday in Paso Robles.

I found these two gorgeous pieces of fabric. Two 1/2 yard swatches: $10.

Oh, the potential oozing from these hip patterns...

Once I was in the car on my way home, it dawned upon me the perfect way to display these darling fabrics: Canvas-wrapped boards!

After tricking Fiance into a trip to Michael’s, we came home with said canvas-wrapped boards. Two for $9.99.

All that stands between the canvas board and the fabric is Anne-Get-Your-Glue-Gun

 The toughest part was making sure the fabric was straight – this was especially important with the gray and yellow patterned piece. The best part of using a glue gun is that it holds firm, but if you need to straighten out your project, you can cleanly remove the fabric from the item you glued it upon, without much incident.

I might have had to redo this at least once. Perhaps twice.

The random pattern was easier, as my concern for keeping it straight wasn't as crucial.

In a matter of 10 minutes or so, both canvases were wrapped and ready for hanging.

Not bad. You can't even see the wrinkles I missed with my iron. Well, ok. Maybe you can.

This last step of the process is called “Wait for Fiance to finish cartoon programming and ask about 5 times ‘can you hang these?’ while smiling ever so darlingly next to the stairs.”

If done effectively, this is the final result. 

Accomplished for $20!

Lastly, the most important part is, if there is an earthquake, we will only suffer minor head injuries from the light canvas pieces tumbling upon our heads.

6 Responses to “In The Fight Against Wall Nudity”

  1. Gram August 19, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Erin – you are so full of great ideas! That really pulls your room together! Don’t burn your fingers with that glue gun! Love, Gram

  2. Heather August 17, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    Super cute, E! I did something similar for K’s room, but added ribbons to make those bulletin boards you can slip pics into. It really does brighten up white walls! Also, you ladies can order fabric from Birch online at http://www.fabricworm.com/. That is one addictive website. 😉

  3. Jess August 16, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Love it! What a great idea! I sense that I will be doing this for my bedroom in the near future 🙂

    • tealandtulle August 16, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

      Yay! If you need a road trip buddy to Paso, call me! Birch Fabrics has the most fun prints to pick from!

  4. Jackie August 16, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    So cute!! Tyler hates the fabric I framed in our living room. But I think it really adds personality and fun to a bland room (our living room). I plan to keep them on the wall until we find a new picture we both love.

    • tealandtulle August 16, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

      Steve was enthused by my idea. Though, I think I lucked out in that we were both so desperate for something on our walls that he was willing to take anything!

Leave a Reply

