DIY Bachelorette Style

6 Sep

You know what is more fun than planning a wedding for yourself?

Planning ANYTHING for anyone else.

This month I’m in one of my best friend’s weddings. She has been nice enough to tolerate my ideas, suggestions, and moderately acceptable demand that I get to wear the homemade raccoon mask that I found under Etsy‘s wedding page at her reception.

Not sure why this item would be sold under weddings, but alas it was there.

To make up for being a bridemaid-zilla, I volunteered to help plan her bachelorette. Why would I take on such a feat? Is it because I like organizing things? Or being in control? Or knowing all the back-end exciting details?

Yes. Yes. Yes.

However, my main motivation was to exercise some fun craft ideas. The best part?

There are 11 people this weekend who were captive audiences to my crafting ways. This is the first of two blog posts where I share what I created for this fun-filled weekend.

Today’s DIY – Bachelorette Tanks

Every bachelorette party needs cute shirts. It is the way you feel a part of the tribe. In the club. “Special.”

I did some research on what it would cost to order these tanks, it was about $20 per top, minimum. After seeing my options to buy in person, I figured this was easily achievable on my own.

From there, I decided these tanks would be gifts, so in case they were so awful that everyone used them to clean vomit, they wouldn’t have wasted money they contributed to the party.

Items Needed:

11 black tank tops

1 white tank top

2 bottles of fabric paint, I got mine from Amazon

1 bachelorette screen template kit

Work space:

A table with enough space to create these masterpieces

Closet or door space to hang said tank tops to dry

Assembly:

For the record, this was not a smooth process. I slowly bought out a local shop’s black tank tops. Waiting for weeks while enough mediums came in that I could clean them out.

I started by screening the tanks with yellow and pink paint. The pink faded so fast that the tanks were not salvageable. But, any crafter knows that there are hiccups along the way to figuring out a new craft or project.

Upon that trail run, I realized the best bet was to go opposite colors – white paint on a black tank and black paint on a white tank. Once I figured that out, it was easy.

Step 1: Take your screen template and lay on flatten tank (sticky side down). Make sure it is high enough for the content to be on the boobs, not under them (I made that mistake the first time). Tape it down with painter’s or masking tape. Just a little will do the trick.

Step 2: Run fabric paint along top of screen.

The paint I used.

Step 3: Take plastic thingy (this item deserves no name) and run it along the paint, down the screen, until the next and images are all filled in with paint.

Step 4: Remove screen template and set tank aside to dry for 24 hours.

The screen template and plastic thingy I used. Best part about this template is that the adhesive on the back would rejuvenate again and again. Very cost effective product.

Step 5: Wear it while lounging around with 11 of your closest friends all weekend!

Someone is ready for a cocktail!

3 Responses to “DIY Bachelorette Style”

  1. Meghan September 12, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    Cute!!!!

  2. Jess September 7, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    I want to wear mine all the time! (Apparently the average person in the store does not agree I should do so given some of the looks I’ve gotten. I’ve no doubt that images of Vegas tiger stealing, roofie induced orgies so through their mind . . . instead of sea otters . . .)

  3. Jackie September 6, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Thank you again for my wonderful weekend and for the cute tanks! I’ve already worn mine so much that it is in desperate need of a ‘washin’!

    XXOO
    Jackie
    Bridezilla x 5

Leave a Reply

