Workspace Challenge: Dominated

7 Sep

About a month ago, I became dead set on creating my own variation a work space. This was my inspiration:

She even has a cool, matching chair

 However, we rent. Which means nothing permanent. No paint. No building cabinets into the closet. No personality. On top of that, this is what I was working with:

There's something creepy about this closet.

So, to create something workable, attractive, and yet nothing that will require us to eat more of our deposit, I had my work cut out for me.

Additionally, I realized the natural light was lacking in the closet, which adjusted what I wanted to do with the space. I realized I was better of creating a standing work station in the closet, then utilize the guest room’s light by buying a desk (a future endeavor) or table to hold my sewing machine (also a future endeavor).

Once I figured all that out, I was able to formulate a game plan. Here’s how I tackled my Workspace Challenge:

1. Remove closet doors to create an open workspace.

2. Go shopping:

2 2×3 cubby cabinets

6 canvas containers

1 customized wood table top (you can have Home Depot cut a board down to your required size)

  • Visit See Jane Work online to buy (admittedly, I bought these items in 2009 and 2010 in hopes I’d someday have a place to put them):

1. 2 tall and 1 wide boxes

2. 4 cardboard magazine holders

3. Assemble and Organize

  • Cubby cabinets. Now I know how sturdy (ok, unsturdy. let’s be honest here)  they are. Fingers are crossed.

    To me, color makes me happy and is very inspiring.

  • Go through all plastic bins and drawers to better organize craft items, ribbon, gift wrap, and place into respective boxes, holders, canvas containers

    Scrap wrapping paper, instructional books, ribbons and other gift-wrapping decor.

  • Drill hooks on wall

    Is it being lazy or economical to only use one screw per hook?

  • Spend 25 minutes figuring out wall decals. Thanks for the research assistance, Fiance.

    I overestimated the space between the decals early on... Stop looking so closely!

4. Enjoy new workspace. What shall I create first?

4 Responses to “Workspace Challenge: Dominated”

  1. sheila September 7, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    You did a great job, Erin! It looks both tidy and enticing to get going on a project. Have fun!

  2. Jackie September 7, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    I love this! I’m so going to copy you and redo our closet. If I can get my hoarder fiance to giveaway any of his corduroy pants from 9th grade, then our closet will look like yours! I love the idea of drawers and taking the doors off for a clean, simple look!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easter Eggs for Keeps | teal and tulle - April 1, 2013

    […] items from her arsenal of crafts (the woman has a room full of this stuff, now I know where I get this from), we got to […]

  2. Desperately Seeking Inspiration « teal and tulle - July 18, 2012

    […] or decorators, here is an article about nine ways to redesign a crafting space. I created my own space a few months ago as well. Picture Courtesy of Real […]

Leave a Reply

