Chalk One Up

12 Sep

When you are getting married, you not only need to send out invitations, build a website, tell all your friends, have engagement parties, showers, and luncheons, but you need Save the Dates.

Save the Dates are the first opportunity for your guests to see your style, so the ante is high. Fiance and I agreed to do a picture magnet, so people remember our wedding in the fleeting moments of getting their next glass of wine. However, even this idea of a picture magnet has to be unique.

Our wedding style is vintage chic (which I think describe about 90% of weddings now), and chalkboard signs are one of the hottest things in weddings. So I decided to combine the two and have us holding a chalkboard in an engagement photo, which we will use on a Save the Date magnet.

I decided to buy a chalkboard and age it myself with a crackle finish, to get that vintage feel.

Step 1: Write the text on the chalkboard with chalkboard paint. Both I purchased at Michael’s.

Writing on a chalkboard is more challenging than you can imagine. This simple looking endeavor took me the better part of 90 minutes.

Step 2: Use painter’s tape to protect your chalkboard, and paint it with your base color. When it comes to doing the crackle technique, you need a base color (which will show through the cracks), the crackle coating (which is clear), and then the top color, which will crack once set to show the base color.

Action shot!!! Look at me paint that base color!

Step 3: Once your base paint has completely dried, apply your crackle coating.

The crackle layer is there... but clear. Trust me.

Step 4: Allow the crackle coating to dry until tacky. Don’t let it dry completely. Paint your top color in long, even strokes.

The crackles will start to appear within minutes of the top color setting in.

In person, the chalkboard has a nice vintage feel to it, in the poppy orange color we will have throughout our wedding. It’ll be the perfect way to set the tone of our wedding!

4 Responses to “Chalk One Up”

  1. Heather September 13, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    If I’d known you had such amazing handwriting on chalkboards I would have requested that you come in and write down what I was saying back in my teaching days. 😉 Cute!

    • tealandtulle September 22, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      Ha! Considering it took me forever to get it just right, it would take me the better part of a day to write down ONE lesson for your classroom. 🙂

  2. Lauren Meers September 12, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    You are brilliant!! I love the color!!

    • tealandtulle September 22, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      Thank you! It was fun and easy to do, which is the best part of a good craft. 🙂

Leave a Reply

