Spookacular Costume: Part 4

26 Oct

Now that the basic dress shape is in place (which until the end of this post, more closely resembles a potato sack), it’s time to clean up the puckered hem line and add the fringe and rick-rack.

First off, I need to clean up the hem along the bottom. To tackle this task required the most used tool in this whole event, aside from Hilde, is this little guy. His job is to remove all the stitches that I worked so hard to mess up.

All that bad work on my part now being undone.

Once I undid the hem line, I decided that I didn’t need to stitch anything along the bottom, since it will be covered by fringe and rick-rack. So I pulled out my Annie-Get-Your-Glue-Gun and got underway!

The rick-rack really accents the costume nicely. And hides my rookie stitches along the arms.

Now I feel like the costume is looking more like an actual Native American costume and a lot less like spud packaging from Idaho.

Thank God it's looking better. I was worried there for a bit!

Next segment is adding all the details and decor to the garment itself, as well as accessories!

2 Responses to “Spookacular Costume: Part 4”

  1. Jess October 26, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Ditto Jackie! Love!

  2. Jackie October 26, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    It’s glorious! I can’t wait to see it on you! 😀

Leave a Reply

