Spookacular Costume: Part 5 (Final!)

31 Oct

Now that the dress was sewn properly, stitched to fit, and the fringe and rick-rack were added around the edges, it was time to personalize the costume.

I started with hand embroidering the front of the dress.

This wasn't going to be tedious or anything.

I used the following stitch styles, none of which I will explain here because I cannot provide the visuals to help comprehension:

French Knots

Lazy Daisy

Fern Stitch

Stars

Physical activity is important for a healthy lifestyle.

I did a combination of teal, red and brown thread and attempted some randomness with the stitches.

Truly authentic, eh? Ok, so it's not. Whatever.

An embroidery tip – thread your colors in individual needles. This will save you from having to rethread over and over.

Let's not waste time by having to thread our needles over and over!

Now that the dress itself was completed, I could move on to the accessories. I will not bore you with how I made any of these items, because none of it is spectacular.

1. Bead bracelets.

Reminds me of the days when I made lanyards.

2. Headband.

I handstitched the beads onto the front to give the band some "umpf"

3. Belt.

This is the authentic beading of my people, the Ginger-hoa.

4. Boot fringe.

No picture – it was barely worth documenting!

With all the pieces done, I was ready to assemble and wear it out in public, to our friend’s party. What do you think?

From a potato sack looking dress.... to a potato sack looking dress with accessories!


5 Responses to “Spookacular Costume: Part 5 (Final!)”

  1. Meghan November 1, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Happy halloween- a day late! Your costume is great! Hope you and Steve had a great halloween!

  2. sheila October 31, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Oh HOORAY! What a wonderful costume!! Terrific job putting it all together, and you look terrific too!
    Have a wonderful Halloween and a great time at the party!!
    XOXO

  3. Steve October 31, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    I like the dead Boo in your last pic. He’ll make a great hat!

  4. Jackie October 31, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    The cutest Native American in all of America!!

  5. Jess October 31, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    You looked absolutely darling!

Leave a Reply

