Beauty School Drop-Out

9 Nov

There are times when the high-end beauty products are the only things that will suffice (a good foundation, powder or mineral make-up comes to mind), but when there is a drug-store replacement (good quality/results, with a great price), you can’t go wrong.

Here is a short list of my favorite drug store beauty products.

L’Oreal Studio Secrets Professional Color Correcting Primer

Corrective colors for everyone!

1/3 the price of the same type of primer at Sephora – and this one works JUST as well.

I use the photo corrective one (green color – or as I call it “Slimer Face”). That shade reduces redness and evens out skin tone.

All three primers keep powders or mineral make-up in place longer.

Dr. Scholl’s Fast Flats

Who cares about the "wrist-let" - get me out of those heels!

No one looks fabulous if they are hobbling around in shoes that are pure misery. Plus they fold up for easy purse (or coat pocket – honest!) storage.

Cover Girl Professional All in One Mascara

This mascara is better than anything I have found - even from the high end brands

Comes with a thick, curved brush and you can find this mascara in true brown. Not black-brown, brown-black, or brownish but with black, but real BROWN.

Paul Mitchell “Hold Me Tight” Hairspray

This spray even fights moisture in the air - that's a big deal for us wavy-haired girls.

A hairspray that holds your style without the gummy, greasy or crunchy results? Yes please.

Neutrogena Make-up Removing Toulettes

Shush... this one is nite-nite soothing....

Originally introduced to this product by my friend Kate in early 2011, I love how effective they are at removing make-up (their foaming cleanser is also another great find), including mascara and eye shadow.

On top of that, you can travel with the toulettes and not live in fear of the pump coming undone and giving all your other products a nice gloppy glossing upon arrival. Which happens to me on EVERY trip, whether it is to Seattle or King City.

What are some of your favorite drug store beauty finds?

4 Responses to “Beauty School Drop-Out”

  1. Jackie November 9, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Okay you and Jess sold me on the makeup removing towelettes (sp?). I don’t even know the names of the makeup I currently use which goes to show you A. I’m not loyal to any brand and B. I’m to lazy to read the labels or remember a brand I like. I WILL check out the mascara you recommend. Anything that doesn’t clump, glump or stump my lashes is a winner!

    • tealandtulle November 9, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      I was totally skeptical about the towelettes, but they really work and actually remove make-up. I was also convinced that I would need multiple towelettes (does this word creep anyone else out?) for one make-up wear, but 1 towelette (blech, yup, creeping me out) scrubbed my Tammy Faye Baker face!

  2. Jess November 9, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    I LOVE the make up removing toulettes. I have found that the Target brand ones work just as well as the Neutrogena or Ponds. They’re what I use every night. I’m also in love with L’Oreal Paris Voluminous mascara. Works just as well as anything more expensive and doesn’t make my eyelashes feel like they’re caked with goo.

    • tealandtulle November 9, 2011 at 11:00 am #

      Good to know about the Target brand! I’ll have to try those out. And isn’t it funny how drug store mascaras tend to be better than the high-end department store ones?

Leave a Reply

