It’s Time for a Tart to Tart

18 Nov

The other evening, we were invited to our friends’ home for a BBQ chicken dinner (which, for sounding so simplistic was simply AMAZING. Truly out of this world).

Anyway, our responsibility was wine and dessert – easy enough, right?

Well, I gave myself about 4 hours to put something together (including shopping time), so I had to come up with something snappy and somewhat presentable. After flipping through a few cookbooks, I went into my dusty and cobwebby memory, where I recalled a tart I used to make, created by Paula Deen.

I figured I would resurrect this PD tart, but put some of my own twists to it.

Erin’s Tart (as modified by Paula Deen’s original recipe)

Ingredients

Crust

2 cups of Nilla Wafers

1/3 cup of butter, melted

Cream Cheese Layer

16 oz package of cream cheese

1 cup of sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

Fruit Layer

Whatever is in season. I used strawberries, blueberries and raspberries. Kiwis would also be a fun, colorful option

Glaze

6oz of Concentrated Limeaid (beware, you will end up using the 1/2 a can of Limeaid, and unless you love yourself some limey beverage, it just goes to waste).

1/4 cup sugar

1 TBSP of lime juice (fresh or packaged)

Corn Starch

Assembly

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Crust

Grind up your Nilla Wafers in a food processor, or if you are sad like me, a blender will do the trick. Mix wafer crumbs with melted butter and pat in a tart or (again, if you are sad like me) a springform pan.

Cookie Crumble Montage

Bake for 8-12 minutes in your oven, or until a toasty golden brown. Set aside until completely cooled. If you are on a short time frame (as I was) you can place crust in refrigerator to speed along the process.

Cream Cheese Layer

Put your 16 oz of cream cheese, sugar and vanilla in a mixing bowl. Using either a standing mixer or a hand-held beater, blend ingredients together until creamy. Set aside, preferably in the fridge.

Whippy Snippy

Fruit Layer

Slice fruit so it has a flat edge for easy lay-out. Blueberries won’t need to be sliced. Keep fruit separate and set aside.

Glaze

Heat Limeaid, lime juice, sugar and corn starch on the stove at medium heat until clear and slightly thickened. Set aside. (there is a lot of “setting aside” going on here. this recipe is a procrastinator’s dream!)

This easy glaze will add a sheen and a nice bite to the tart.

Bringing the Tart Together

Spread cream cheese layer over cooled crust.

Set fruit in a circular pattern on top of cream cheese layer.

It's easiest to start from the outside and work in. Biggest fruit slices to smallest.

Take a pastry brush (or any brush, really) and gently brush on the glaze over the fruit.

Place in fridge to set and chill before serving.

Serve with whipped cream.

Anyone else appreciate how I forgot to photograph the final results? Then remembered after 1/2 the tart was consumed. Smooth move, blogging rookie.

Enjoy and feel amazing.

6 Responses to “It’s Time for a Tart to Tart”

  1. Jackie November 21, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    I’m jealous of your culinary prowess. If I attempted something like this it would turn out green and awkwardly crunchy. Still, I plan to attempt this delish dish!

    • tealandtulle November 21, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

      I promise it’s easy. Scout’s honor. Except I was never a scout. So that tells you how honest I really am. Which is not at all.

  2. Linda November 20, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Yum! I may have to try that. I could substitute Splenda for the sugar, then I could enjoy it without guilt!

    • tealandtulle November 21, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

      That’s an excellent point. You are already eating it with fruit, which is good for you. Add Splenda and I think we could submit this to Weight Watchers for a kick-butt diet dish. Though my approach to eating three slices a sitting probably would not be condoned by WW.

  3. Meghan November 18, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    That looks sooooo delicious!

    • tealandtulle November 21, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

      Thanks Megs! It’s super easy to make, which is nice. Barely any real cooking involved. Just mixing and assembly.

Leave a Reply

