So You Think You Can Sew

21 Nov

Did you know that there are sewing patterns by Simplicity called “Learn to Sew?”

Well, I didn’t either.

I discovered these FOUR DAYS after creating my costume from a sewing pattern and kit. And if you remember, I struggled with the instructions of the “Easy to Sew” pattern and had to start over. “Easy,” as I have learned, is a misnomer with Simplicity, and should be a term reserved for Staples or “16 and Pregnant.” Knowing what I know now, starting with a “Learn to Sew” kit would’ve been prudent.

These kits include all the definitions of sewing lingo (“the bias” – such fancy terminology without all the political affiliations), what kind of fabric you should buy for the sort of item you are sewing (such as wool and other equally exotic fabrics), all the tools you’ll need, how to use the patterns properly (one of my more obvious shortcomings), and incredibly clear step-by-step instructions.

Anyway, I ordered two kits (after holding off from ordering “Learn to Sew: Men Vests” and making one for Steve so he could look like Robin Thicke).

This girl is sewing savvy and fashionable. What a lofty goal.

I just can't decide. Horrible gaucho slouchy pants or pajama pants with fancy fringe.

I plan to sew a skirt and a pair of pajama pants. That is my bold proclamation.

Stay tuned for when I tackle one of these projects in early December. God help us all.

3 Responses to “So You Think You Can Sew”

  1. Linda November 23, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    I’ll be interested in reading about this project!

  2. Heather November 21, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Laughing! Out loud! I want you to make Steve a vest.

    • tealandtulle November 21, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      I considered it. I’ve threaten to make him something – but a vest? Oh, that would take the cake. 🙂

Leave a Reply

