Pining for Pie

23 Nov

A few weeks ago, our circle of friends got together for an early Thanksgiving. A holiday with all the food and fun, and no family stress (that’s a hint to you, Lula), is a great way to kick off the season.

Damn you, Lula! You make me so stressed!

I volunteered to bake apple pies for the gang. I think I have said this before, but if you go with a store bought pie crust, pie IS EASY. In my opinion, many, many things are better when homemade. But there are rarely those few times when you can swap it out for something store bought (plus, if no one can even tell, why go through the trouble?)

Note – I’ve had one person EVER ask me if my crust was store-bought, then acted haughty about it when I said yes (I’m not going to lie – that would be pathetic and a disservice to the Pillsbury Dough Boy).

I say, put that person in a kitchen to make homemade dough for pies and then hours later when they crumble, break and look ugly, and he realizes his time was completely wasted and he has to go to the store ANYWAY to buy Pillsbury crust, he can let me know what he thinks then!

Ahem. However. I digress.

On to the pie. The “hardest” part of making this pie (as with most pies) is the tedious process of prepping the filing. In this case, that is peeling the apples, and slicing them into small apple slivers. I think the thinner the slice, the yummier the pie – but that might just be me. Cut your apple slices however you wish!

Erin’s Apple Pie (c/o Betty Crocker – thanks, girl!)

Ingredients

The apple ratio is grossly misrepresented.

1 box Pillsbury (or your favorite) prepared pie crust (you will use both crusts)

6-8 Granny Smith Apples (depending on size and how full you want your pie – I go for 8 apples)

3/4 cup sugar (depending on how much you personally prefer)

1 generous tsp cinnamon

1/2 generous tsp nutmeg

1/4 cup flour

dash of salt

1 egg white

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Peel and slice all your apples, set in deep mixing bowl.

Unroll your pie crust and place into pie dish.

Add sugar, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Mix together with wooden spoon. Pour into pie dish.

Sugar + apples + buttery pie crust = yes, please.

Unroll second pie crust. I like to cut out little designs for ventilation (you can also use cookie cutters. I would do that if I hadn’t thrown the “Sugar Cookie Fit of 2008” and then proceeded by throwing all of my cookie cutters away… I hate rolling and cutting out cookie dough). You can also just place the crust on top and poke holes or slice with a knife for ventilation.

Brush pie with egg white to give crust a nice sheen once baked.

Place on top of an aluminum foil covered cookie sheet to bake (unless you want the pie to bubble over and make a huge mess in your oven that you’ll have to clean out a week later… like I might have).

The "oven self clean" feature makes you feel like you are running a crematorium. Just saying - use a covered cookie sheet!

Bake at 350 for 60-0 minutes, or until the crust is a nice, golden brown.

Two pies are great for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Additions to pie: add raisins or cranberries to the pie filling. I think cranberries would be a nice tart balance.

Some people swear by adding a slice of American Cheese to the top. I find that repellant. The same guy who commented about my pie crust would probably like that idea. But who am I to judge?

Happy Thanksgiving!

One Response to “Pining for Pie”

  1. Jackie November 23, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Homemade apple pie is my all time favorite (a close second is pumpkin) and I can’t wait to use your recipe! Like you, I am a sucker for store bought crusts. I think you can get away with 90% of a dish being homemade you can call the entire thing HOMEMADE.

    By the way, Lula looks extra mischievous in the picture. Almost like she is plotting getting her paws in that apple pie!

Leave a Reply

