Wrap Star

28 Nov

I don’t know about all of you, but I unpacked my holiday decor this weekend and thought “that’s it?!?!” If your decorations don’t make you convulse with color or get queasy from all the kitschy chaos, then it isn’t Christmas.

So, it is time to come up with some low-budget, highly-festive home holiday decor. I found a few things I had around the house and made some holiday wall art.

What You Need:

1 16×20 canvas board (2 for $10 – Michaels)

1 vintage-style wrapping paper ($4.99 from Contessa Boutique, downtown SLO)

Red velvet ribbon ($0 – from my collection of wrapping paper and ribbon)

Hot glue gun

The gift that will keep on giving. To me.

Assemble:

It’s so simple, my cat can do this – and she doesn’t even have thumbs.

Warm up your hot glue gun, center the canvas on top of the wrapping paper, print-side down. Cut your ribbon.

Gluing down the edges.

Glue edges of wrapping paper to canvas wrap, folding in the corners, just as if you are wrapping a present.

Glue red ribbon on to wrapping-paper-wrapped-canvas (yes, I used “wrap” twice). Tie bow and glue that on as well.

Hang on wall. Admire your colorful (read: cheap) holiday decoration.

Hardest part was getting that bow to look just right. I blame being left-handed. I don't know why, but I do.

7 Responses to “Wrap Star”

  1. Jess November 28, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Love this! I agree on the need to over-do on Christmas decor. But really, it’s never over-doing it. It’s just enough-ing it.

  2. Meghan November 28, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    Erin, I didn’t know you were left handed! Or did I? and I just forgot? I totally agree, being left-handed is the fault for many things being difficult.

    • tealandtulle November 28, 2011 at 9:22 am #

      Ha! I must be good at hiding it. 🙂 Being left-handed DOES make a lot of things difficult!!! 🙂

      • Jackie December 7, 2011 at 9:12 am #

        My dad, sister and brother all all left handed and all three are very creative. My mom and I got the right handed, un-crafty gene. I envy you and your left-handedness.

  3. Jackie November 28, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    This is really cute! But considering I am the world’s worst wrapper of presents under normal circumstances (just ask my family) I probably will just have to admire this at your house vs. trying to make one myself. 🙂

    • tealandtulle November 28, 2011 at 9:22 am #

      My grandfather used to put gifts in garbage bags with those sticky bows…. so it could be worse.

      • Jackie December 7, 2011 at 9:10 am #

        I have to give your grandpa credit in that he at least put a bow on the garbage bag!

Leave a Reply

