Gingers for Gingerbread (cookies, that is)

19 Dec

You all thought I was dead. Ha! Well, sorry to disappoint (not really) – but my computer was in the shop. And now that it’s back, I’m back.

Let’s talk cookies. For the past week I’ve been itching to make gingerbread cookies. Oddly enough, finding a decent recipe is a challenge. Three of my cookbooks list recipes that make 108 cookies (7 cups of flour, no joke). Since breaking down such a large recipe sounded like a complete waste of time, I passed on those.

Another recipe has you cook the “wet ingredients” together on the stove top. I’ve never heard of such a thing, so that recipe was discarded as well.

I finally found a gingerbread cookie recipe from Paula Deen. And most shocking of all, it doesn’t include butter. Ok, so there is shortening. Get over it! The cookies come out really soft and flavorful – worth the recipe search!

Hey Y'all! Let's make some cookies!

Gingerbread Cookies c/o Paula Deen

Ingredients:

3/4 C Vegetable Shortening

1 C sugar

1 egg

1/4 C molasses

2 C flour

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp ground cloves

1/2 tsp salt

The gang's all here

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or spray with non-stick cooking spray. Even if your cookie sheets are non-stick, with the molasses it’s good to take this extra step.

Using a mixer, cream shortening and sugar. Add egg and molasses and mix well.

Molasses makes everything look horrible.

In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ground ginger, cloves and salt. Don’t have a sifter? Simply use a colander. Just don’t shake too vigorously or else you’ll get flour mixture everywhere.

Hobo sifter

Add flour to sugar mixture, stir until mixed. Use spoons or a cookie scoop to drop dough onto cookie sheets. To make a regular sized cookie, the dough should be the size of a ping-pong ball.

I'm really tired of cookie recipes telling me to not eat the dough. I'll do what I want!

Bake cookies for 9 minutes (longer if making larger cookies) or until set and a light brown at edges. Let cool on cookie sheet for a minute or so (as the cookies will still be very pliable) then cool on cookie sheet.

Cookies will flatten out a bit, but will remain very soft and chewy.

If you want to add a glaze-frosting to the tops of the cookies, mix powdered sugar, a few tablespoons of milk and a dollop of vanilla extract.

Take a pastry brush and brush glaze over cookies.

Allow to set.

Yum.

5 Responses to “Gingers for Gingerbread (cookies, that is)”

  1. Heather December 20, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    These were seriously the BEST gingerbread cookies Jon & I have ever tasted… I was hoping you’d post the recipe!! 🙂

  2. Jess December 20, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    I love Paula Deen. Seriously . . . one day I’m trekking to Savanah asd making her my friend . . . or maybe charming her single son into marrying me . . .

  3. Linda Vernon December 20, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    I wondered what happened to you! Well I’m glad you got your computer fixed. Now I’m going to have to make these cookies! And eat them all by myself, half in dough form, half in cookie form! 🙂

  4. Frankie Fingers Senior December 19, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Save some for me!

  5. Jackie December 19, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    I love love LOVE gingerbread cookies! I also absolutely love your clever post title. I’m eating a sugar cookie right now wishing it was one of your gingerbread’s instead!

Leave a Reply

