Trends Better Off Left in 2011

21 Dec
Trends Better Off Left in 2011

Kain silk blouse
$189 – otteny.com

Aqua skinny leg jeans
$68 – bloomingdales.com

Alejandro Ingelmo platform pumps
$208 – bloomingdales.com
I don’t know about you all, but I firmly believe there are some things in fashion that are better off left to rot and die.
1. Blousey, blousey, bloomy tops – I’m so tired of “maternity wear” for non-pregnant women. It’s not flattering, everything is distorted and oversized. Frankly, I suspect it allows clothing manufacturers to produce items that are poorly designed. How can you tell how it is supposed to fit when it looks like a garbage sack or a moving box on your upper body?
2. Festive colorful pants – I have met one woman (ONE) who has successfully worn colored denim. Well, they were fitted red corduroys and they worked. However, this trend is high risk, low reward.
3. Platform pumps – I’ve tried on these types of shoes once. In doing so caused an argument in my subconscious:
Hopeful Erin: “Oh, I look so tall!”
Practical Erin: “I don’t know, it’s sort of wabbly being 5’10”
Hopeful Erin: “My legs, they go for like 28 inches now. That might as well be forever!”
Practical Erin: “Are we listing?”
Hopeful Erin: “No, we are casually leaning to the side. We intend to do this.”
Practical Erin: “Our ankles hurt.”
Hopeful Erin: “We are like a Kardashian. If they had a ginger one.”
Practical Erin: “But we don’t like the Kardashians. And we look like an idiot in these shoes.”
Hopeful Erin: *Sighs and kicks off pumps  * “Agreed.”

7 Responses to “Trends Better Off Left in 2011”

  1. Terri O January 16, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    blousey worked for me last year, but then I was pregnant for a good portion of the year. I was never a fan of the shoes or pants tho…

    • tealandtulle January 16, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

      Good point, Terri! I had another girlfriend who said the same thing – but then those blousey tops got too short after a while into her pregnancy. 🙂

      • Terri O January 16, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

        Yes, one must mind the gap 😉

  2. Jackie December 21, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    I’m laughing at loud right now at your post!

    I agree with your inner (and outer) dialogue on all three points. I do own a few blousey sweatshirt type shirts and unless worn with stretch pants (and even then) they just don’t look quite right. I’m keeping them for when I’m actually pregnant instead of purchasing maternity wear. I’m sooooo practical.

  3. Linda Vernon December 21, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    I loved your inner dialog! (At least I hope it was inner!)
    Funny post Erin, enjoyed it!

    • tealandtulle December 21, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

      Thanks Linda! I hope it was an internal discussion too. Once or twice I’ve been out in public, thinking I’m talking to myself, then realizing I’m quietly saying these things to myself, but out loud.

      • Linda Vernon December 21, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

        I do the same thing. We’ll just say it’s a sign of intelligence if anybody asks!

Leave a Reply

