The Season for Giving (To Yourself)

27 Dec

What comes in your mail? Our mailbox has the usual – Chase Signature Rewards Credit Card applications, postcards for the NFL Ticket through DirecTV, magazines proclaiming that I can lose the wedding/cat adoption/holiday/Superbowl/insert-your-gut-busting-event-here weight in 10 days, as well as consistent micro-managing notices from the HOA (apparently you receive a parking permit to use, but the HOA doesn’t like people using them with any regularity).

I’m beginning to learn that if you want fun mail, sometimes you have to do it yourself. Though it ends up, sending yourself cat emblazoned cards and love letters doesn’t suffice. Not even combining them suffices.

Anyhow, back in November, a girlfriend (nod to Jess) introduced me to Birch Box. Birch Box is a little company that gathers and sends out samples to members. You subscribe and each month you’ll receive a box in the mail with 5-6 sample beauty goodies. The items vary from perfume samples to skin salve to nail polish or make-up samples.

After reading up on Birch Box, I learned that it’s a company run by two young women, with no hidden fees, trickery or malarkey under foot. You pay $10 a month and receive said samples. If you don’t want to participate, you simply cancel and that’s that. I concluded that it’s worth the try, and that I’ve wasted a lot more money on stupider thing in the past s (an ill-stitched star-patterned dresses, event tickets never used, full cocktails left in the restroom at bars).

I’m now on my second month and I’ve found it’s really cool (duh) to receive a small gift for yourself in the mail each month. So far, I am actually able to use the items received, as opposed to the random creams and glazes from the samples at Sephora where I’m left to wonder “is this tube for my hair or teeth?”

Whether I’ll buy any of the samples in their full-sizes remains to be seen. But so far, so good!

November's Loot - nail polish, foot salve, lip balm, Kate Spade sample perfume (one of the few times you can say "eau de toilette" and be saying something glamorous).

December's box - gold nail polish, face primer, fashion tape, lip gloss and body spray.

3 Responses to “The Season for Giving (To Yourself)”

  1. Sarah Perry January 7, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    I just signed up 🙂 Thanks for posting gurrrrl!

  2. Jess January 4, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    Thanks for the nod! I feel so special 🙂 I LOVE what you’ve gotten so far!

  3. Meghan December 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    Awesome, I will have to check this out. I love getting stuff in the mail.

Leave a Reply

