Hau’oli Makahiki Hou! (Happy New Year’s!)

3 Jan

This past NYE Fiance and I spent the evening at a casual Hawaiian party. As guests, we were asked to bring an appetizer or dessert to share that met with the theme of the party. After doing some research and seriously considering Spam Musubi, I settled on a variation of Alton Brown‘s onion dip, substituting regular onions for Sweet Maui onions.

If you are sensitive to chopping onions, I suggest "Stalker Breathing" (breathing with your mouth open)... or you can run away with tears streaming down your face every 5 minutes. Which is my approach.

Sweet Maui Onion Dip

Ingredients

2 TBSP Olive Oil

3-4 Maui Sweet Onions (found at Trader Joe’s)

1 1/2 C Sour Cream

3/4 Mayonnaise

1/2 tsp Kosher Salt

1/4 tsp White Pepper (use liberally)

1/4 tsp Garlic Powder (use liberally)

Preparation

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add chopped onions and cook until caramelized. Set heat around a medium-low and stir periodically (in time, allow the onions to stick to the pan, which will encourage the caramelizing process) . This step will take 30-60 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix remaining ingredients together and set aside (or in the fridge).

Taste test once the onions are in to see if you want to add more spices.

Once onions are done, set aside to cool, then add to Sour Cream/Mayonnaise mix.

Caution: Severe Onion Breath, Ahead.

Wrap and refrigerate until ready to serve.

The longer the dip sits in the fridge, the more the flavors meld together. Sooo freakin' good, if I do say so myself.

7 Responses to “Hau’oli Makahiki Hou! (Happy New Year’s!)”

  1. Meghan January 4, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Onion dip and ruffles potato chips are my absolute favorite. Although I have never had homemade onion dip.

    • tealandtulle January 4, 2012 at 8:33 am #

      Me neither, Megs! And honestly, it was so easy to make I don’t know why more people don’t have homemade dip. 🙂 It’s totally worth it.

  2. Linda Vernon January 4, 2012 at 8:26 am #

    Ha ha! YOu need to rename this Stalker Onion Dip! Or no eye make up onion dip! It looks good. I’ll bet it went quickly at the party! You take the best pictures!

    • tealandtulle January 4, 2012 at 8:32 am #

      I love it! And then I can hide behind the dip and when people come over I can whisper “I see you.”

    • tealandtulle January 4, 2012 at 8:34 am #

      Thanks for the photo comment too – I just got a new camera (no more point-and-click for me, I guess), so hopefully things will look more appetizing on here.

  3. Jackie January 3, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    I think I spent almost the entire night glued to your onion dip. It was sooooo good. My saddle bags are not happy with you.

    I also enjoyed your coconut chocolate brownies! You should do that recipe next!

Leave a Reply

