Pour Some (Powdered) Sugar On Me

9 Jan

At the NYE party that I mentioned in a prior post, I also made a dessert. Why? Because being busy in the kitchen is much more fun than working out, doing laundry or any other form of productivity.

I found a simple, yet tasty recipe out of my trusty Betty Crocker Cookies cookbook. While they were a hit with the crowd, they were mostly a hit with my mouth.

Coconut Fudge Cups (c/0 Betty Crocker)

Ingredients:

Dough:

1/4 C butter, softened

3 OZ cream cheese, softened

3/4 C flour

1/4 C powdered sugar, plus some for sprinkling

2 TBSP baking cocoa

1/4 tsp vanilla

Filling:

2/4 C sugar

2/3 C flaked coconut

1/3 C baking cocoa

2 TBSP butter

1 egg

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350. Beat cream cheese and sugar together.

There is just something delicious about sugar and cream cheese.

Add in flour, powdered sugar, baking cocoa and vanilla.

Chocolate improves everything. EVERYTHING.

In a separate bowl, mix together filling ingredients.

Fudgey Filling and Cakey Cup mixes

Take the cream cheese mixture and roll into 1 inch balls. 

Fiance thought this picture was "sick!" And not in the Jeff Spicoli way. In the I'm-physically-ill sort of way.

With a mini cupcake pan, press dough balls into bottom up the side. Scoop coconut filling into dough cups.

Bake until set, about 20 minutes.

Action Shot.

Allow to cool in pan for a few minutes before removing to fully cool. Then sprinkle powdered sugar on top.

Using a metal strainer helps disperse the powdered sugar evenly.

If you want your friends to kindly comment on your (most likely, obnoxious) over-achieving ways, make signs for your treats.

5 Responses to “Pour Some (Powdered) Sugar On Me”

  1. Jess January 17, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Not gonna lie, I want to make a dirty joke about hits and mouths but I will refrane and instead wish I had one of these right now . . .

  2. Linda Vernon January 9, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Mmmm. . . I love your pictures too, they look like they’re out of a magazine. I think I just gained about three pounds reading this! 🙂

    • tealandtulle January 9, 2012 at 11:27 am #

      Then imagine how much I gained by polishing them all off on my own! I’m STILL living in elastic-banded pants!

  3. Jackie January 9, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    I LOVED these confections of yours! If I could, I’d eat the entire batch right now! Simply delicious and from the looks of it, fairly simple to make!

    • tealandtulle January 9, 2012 at 11:26 am #

      I did eat them all. I took what was left home, then proceeded to eat them over the next few days. I kept telling myself to throw them out, but I kept throwing them into my mouth.

Leave a Reply

