I Love You, Lasagna

18 Jan

Almost two years ago, I made this lasagna for Fiance, back when we were first dating. I left it at his house while he was on a business trip, and went about my evening. He discovered it, had a few bites and came over to tell me he was falling in love with me. Move over, Glamor’s Engagement Chicken, Love Lasagna trumps.

I originally pulled the recipe from The Food Network, but didn’t care for certain ingredients (like cottage cheese, blech), so I made one or two changes to suit my preferences.

I Love You, Lasagna

Ingredients

1 lb ground turkey

1 medium onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1 14.5 oz can stewed tomatoes, chopped

1 8 ox can tomato sauce

1 6 oz can tomato paste

1 8 oz box no-boil lasagna noodles (these can be tough to find – Barilla makes them)

2 eggs

2 C ricotta

1/2 C grated Parmesan (stuff in the can works just as well)

2 tsp freshly chopped parsley (I recommend using a small food processor or blender to chop herbs)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp seasoning salt

2 C shredded cheese (I use Sargento Reduced-Fat Mexican Cheese Blend)

Preparation

Heat oven to 375. In a large pan, cook ground turkey with onion and garlic until browned. Drain if necessary. Add stewed tomatoes, tomato sauce and paste. Turn down to a simmer, cover and cook for 15 minutes, stirring periodically.

Mix ricotta, eggs, Parmesan, parsley, salt, pepper and seasoning salt together.

Who's ready to build some lasagna?

Grease a 13x9x2 baking dish. Pour a small amount of meat sauce on the bottom, then layer lasagna noodles. Make sure they slightly overlap. Once the dish starts to bake, the noodles should expand to the edges of the dish.

A spatula (or your hands) is the best way to spread out the layers evenly.

From there, layer your lasagna in this order: ricotta mixture, meat-sauce mixture, shredded cheese, lasagna noodles. Do this 2 or 3 times, or until the dish is brimming with lasagna goodness. Pour whatever remaining sauce over the top layer of noodles and sprinkle any remaining cheese.

Cheese = calcium rich

Bake for about 30 minutes or until the top is bubbly and brown. Cool a bit and serve!

Oh yeah. I made brownies too.

Note – I made a smaller version of the lasagna – so the pan is not the same size as stated in the recipe.

7 Responses to “I Love You, Lasagna”

  1. Meghan January 19, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    YUM!!! Love Lasagna. Looks delicious!

  2. Lauren Meers January 18, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    MMMM this looks amazing. Perhaps we should whip it up for a future girls wine night!!!

  3. Linda Vernon January 18, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    This looks addictive! Deliciously so. You ought to write up the story of how you made this lasagne and your fiance fell in love. For Valentines day and send it to the Food Network. Who knows? They might feature it on their site!

    • tealandtulle January 18, 2012 at 10:43 am #

      Great suggestion, Linda! I think I’ll do that. 🙂 I’ll practice my Southern Paula Deen drawl in the meantime, while eating a stick of butter like a carrot. “Hey y’all!”

  4. Jackie January 18, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    This looks easy and not at ALL intimidating to make! I’m going to try it next week on my husband. He is my science experiment for all things food.

    Most of the time the hard thing to deal with is how LONG it takes to make lasagna. 30 minutes is FAST!

    • tealandtulle January 18, 2012 at 10:43 am #

      Jackie – that was one of the things that drew me to this recipe too – no pre-cooking the lasagna noodles, no sophisticated steps or process. It’s pretty easy and quick. Like, while the meat cooks you can mix your ricotta, etc. Then it bakes up pretty fast as well.

Leave a Reply

