Snickerdoodle-do

26 Jan

In between sewing, stitching, ironing and hemming all the decorative details for our upcoming nuptials (oh, DIY and vintage-rustic-chic are too IN for my own good), I have been baking.

A lot.

Most recently, I whipped up some Snickerdoodle cookies for Fiance and I to enjoy.

If you live under a rock, a Snickerdoodle is different from a Sugar Cookie in that it is delightfully coated in a light dusting of baked sugar and cinnamon.

The way I calculate it, sewing wedding reception napkins and embroidering centerpiece fabric burns about 250 calories an hour. Don’t dare challenge my math. I like it this way.

Snickerdoodles, c/o Betty Croker

Ingredients

1/4 C Sugar

1 TBSP Cinnamon

1 1/2 C Sugar

1/2 C Shortening

1/2 C Butter, softened

2 Eggs

2 3/4 C Flour

2 tsp Cream of Tartar

1 tsp Baking Soda

1/4 tsp Salt

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix 1/4 C Sugar and Cinnamon in a small bowl, set aside.

With a stand or hand mixer, blend together 1 1/2 C sugar, shortening, butter and eggs.

Blend until fluffy

In a separate bowl, stir together flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt.

Pour dry mix into wet mix and blend together.

Scoup or mold dough into 1 inch balls, and roll in the sugar/cinnamon mixture.

Set on cookie sheet and bake for 9-11 minutes. Allow to set on sheet for a minute before removing to a cooling rack.

Tip – Don’t feel like you have to bake all 3-4 dozen cookies at once. Take left over dough, wrap in wax paper, foil and a freezer bag, then store in the freezer until ready to use. Defrost and bake as directed. Dough can be thawed and refrozen once or twice and still maintain it’s integrity.

3 Responses to “Snickerdoodle-do”

  1. Jess January 26, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    Oh man a snickerdoodle sounds amaaaazing right now. Or ten.

  2. Jackie January 26, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    No lie, my stomach grumbled reading this recipe. And like my mom, I have no self control when it comes to delicious cookies. I would literally eat 12 in a row!

  3. Linda Vernon January 26, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Hmmmm . . . I could eat them all in one sitting if I didn’t eat all the dough first. I guess I’m just too undeciplined and irresponsible to own a mixer!

Leave a Reply

