Don’t Knock It Until You Try It

2 Feb

I almost never buy anything at J Crew. The last time I believe I made a purchase in their store was August 2008 in Portland, OR. I found a cute Jackie Kennedy-style sweater that was on clearance, since it was an online return.

I find that J Crew is over-priced for a store in which people buy clothes to build a foundation of basics. A button-down blouse should not start at $72. It just shouldn’t.

I try to shop there – I browse the racks and shop their sale corner, but to no avail.

That was, until this past weekend. When I discovered the J Crew outlet.

Cute skirts, colorful styles, the perfect plaid button-down (which I have dreamed about like other women dreamed about meeting Pre-Kate-Prince-William). All for a fraction of the price, and an additional 20% off.

Purple plaid blouse - finally it is mine!

Ends up Lula and I wore the same colors on Weds. EMBARRASSING. New puff skirt. And yes, I did iron the skirt (despite how it appears).

This may show the new salmon skirt better....

But me laughing with my eyes closed is much more me

On top of all that – I found my wedding kicks at J Crew. I think J Crew is really enjoying sticking it to me with all the success I had with them this past weekend. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be eating crow from now until the indefinite future.

10 Responses to “Don’t Knock It Until You Try It”

  1. Jackie February 7, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    A J Crew outlet! I’m already in love with the Nordstrom Rack. And the fact that you are able to find J Crew clothing to fit your petite frame amazes me. I’ve always put them in the Gap/Old Navy, tall people category. I might need to go on a shopping trip with you to venture to this new outlet store.

    By the way, I LOVE the Salmon skirt with black top and your little boots are darling! You are one stylish lady!

    • tealandtulle February 8, 2012 at 10:02 am #

      I love the Nordstrom Rack too. When it comes to J Crew outlet – the blouses are still too big and if I buy the skirts in a size that fits, they are shockingly short (hence my purpley legs in the photos). So, if I can stand a lot of gam showing and blousey tops tucked in to skirts, I can get by on J Crew.

  2. Leslie February 3, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    I just have to say Erin, you crack me up! I love your blog! I read everything you post! Keep em comin’ and stay wonderful!

    • tealandtulle February 8, 2012 at 10:00 am #

      Thanks Leslie! I enjoy your blog as well.

  3. Jess February 2, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

    IN LOVE with all this.

  4. Meghan February 2, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    I love your outfits, so cute!

    • tealandtulle February 8, 2012 at 10:00 am #

      Thanks Megs! I got those the day after we visited. 🙂

  5. Linda Vernon February 2, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Very cute Erin! I can tell you may make J Crew your new BFF! 🙂

    • tealandtulle February 8, 2012 at 9:59 am #

      Thanks Linda – I think J Crew is still on a warning status. 🙂 If they keep it up with affordable outlet options, I will consider lifting said restrictive status.

Leave a Reply

