Fifty Thousand, Two Hundred and Twenty Square Inches of FUN

8 Feb

Based on my nifty math skills, that’s how many inches of fabric I’ve sewn into napkins over the past several months for our upcoming wedding reception.

I blame my crafting brain. This is the same brain that loves to shriek “Oh I can make that!” while shopping around town or reading the posts of more talented bloggers. My brain’s lofty goals result with mixed crafting results.

Deep in thought over sewing things that are beyond my capabilities.

Some months ago I had this fantastic idea of DIY wedding napkins (which has led to DIY centerpieces, pennant flags, frames, boxes, etc.). To the surprise of my biggest skeptic (me), I have finally finished said napkins.

Sewing (hopefully) slightly more than we anticipate needing, I have made 155 napkins, now neatly organized and sorted by color and pattern.

Napkins stacked and ready for May 5th.

You’d think after 155 fabric swatches, ironing 620 edges, pinning creased corners, and endless pedal pushing, I’d be a pro at sewing.

A straight stitch line is an elusive feat.

Let’s not confuse tenacity for agility or talent.

That focus is the look of determination.... not expertise.

The job is done and I loved every minute. However, if anyone takes a close gander at the stitch work, they will find the rookie wobbles of the stitches, the stops and starts of the thread. This is why I plan to have a substantial cocktail hour before anyone reaches their tables to inspect my work.

The crafting train continues (who doesn’t love a transportation analogy?) as now I’m jumping full force into our centerpieces. So far this is what I have:

A start, I suppose.

More on this project later this week!

9 Responses to “Fifty Thousand, Two Hundred and Twenty Square Inches of FUN”

  1. Meghan February 9, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    Do the kitties actually leave you alone with all this sewing and craft time? Mine would be all over everything and I wouldn’t be able to get anything done! Love the napkins!

    • tealandtulle February 9, 2012 at 11:45 am #

      Sometimes they get in the way – but they aren’t too bad.

  2. Linda Vernon February 8, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    I think you idea to have a cocktails before napkin scrutiny is a sound one. Especially if someone shows up with their microscope.

    • tealandtulle February 9, 2012 at 11:46 am #

      I’m relying on bad lighting and LOTS of wine.

  3. Jackie February 8, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    I love your concentration face. I make that face whenever doing any kind of calculations in my head (especially percentages).

    The napkins are too cute to use. I’ll have to wipe my face on Tyler’s jacket in order to preserve the cuteness.

    • tealandtulle February 8, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

      Good thing his suit is a rental. Wipe away!

  4. Jess February 8, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    I’m absolutely in love with these! Can’t wait to admire and exclaim over them and then, ultimately, wipe my face on it. And CUTE centerpieces!

    • Jess February 8, 2012 at 10:13 am #

      Also, I love the cats in the background, keeping an eye out.

      • tealandtulle February 8, 2012 at 10:15 am #

        They are most helpful in that regard. Thanks for your kudos! And yes, these napkins are meant to be used – so go for it!

Leave a Reply

