Brownie Troupe

10 Feb

I don’t make many things from mixes. Brownies are one of those few things. Betty Crocker’s Fudge Brownies – in all their fun variations – are hard to beat. So, why fix something that isn’t broken?

Mostly because I was bored and up for a moderate challenge. Oh, and I wouldn’t want to lose TOO much weight before the wedding – I mean, that would just be absurd (and, ends up, impossible, so I might as well eat brownies anyway).

Oh hello friend. Let's get started.

Not to wander too far off course, I pulled out my Betty Crocker Cookies! cookbook and found a from-scratch brownie recipe. It received accolades and approval from Fiance, so I figure it’s a keeper. It’s fudgy, not cakey. Who would want a cakey brownie? That sounds disgusting.

And after all my bru-ha-ha about using a mix, I realized this recipe only uses three more ingredients than the boxed variety.

Fudge Brownies, c/o Betty Crocker (that sassy minx)

Ingredients:

5 OZ of baking chocolate

2/3 C butter, softened

1 3/4 C Sugar

1 C Flour

2 tsp Vanilla

3 eggs

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 9×9 baking dish (I just Pam for Baking)

Melt butter and baking chocolate on stove-top, over low heat, stirring periodically.Once melted, remove from heat.

With a hand or stand mixer, beat the eggs, vanilla and sugar for 5 minutes (I had the stand mixer to this job while I melted the chocolate – 1 point for multi-tasking).

Once complete, add chocolate/butter mixture on low.

Add in flour and mix by hand (don’t over-mix).

Pour into baking dish and bake for 40-45 minutes, or until set in the center (the trusty clean-toothpick-in-the-center trick will tell you when the brownies are finished).

Allow to cool and set. Enjoy how you wish!

Fiance's personal brownie preference

4 Responses to “Brownie Troupe”

  1. Frankie Fingers Senior February 10, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Maybe you should share that recipe with Gram! 🙂

  2. Jackie February 10, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    nomnomnom. I wish I was eating those now.

    I can’t bake anything at home or else I eat the entire pan myself!

    • tealandtulle February 10, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

      I had one for breakfast. So…. is that what you mean? Because it’s happening. I’m slowly eating the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

