Be Mine, Valentine

17 Feb

A few weeks ago, one of my good friends Lauren suggested we check this event out:

It was a cocktail and appetizer paper valentine workshop, hosted by Paper Sky and Atmodsphere here in SLO.

Excuse me?

Cocktails, crafting and an evening out with Lauren?

This had me written all over it.

Needless to say, my answer was “YES PLEASE.”

We arrived around 5:20 and enjoyed some pink bubbly, sweets and introductions before getting down to business… which included all those things, but with paper crafts thrown in to the mix.

Everyone got their own little craft package, prepped to make three different styles of valentines.

First up was the fortune cookie valentine. For me, it was the hardest of the three projects. Mine was all frumpy and crumpled by the time I finished it, and not surprising, it did not knock Fiance’s socks off when I gave it to him later that night.

How the fortune cookie SHOULD'VE looked

After that we entered familiar territory – the needle and thread. We stitched the thread through the card (pre-punched) to create a darling colorful heart.

Lastly we took on quilling – which is the fancy name for curling paper. Taking a small metal rod, we curled strips of colorful paper into various shapes – or if you are like Lauren or myself, the same 2 or 3 styles we could somewhat successfully master.

"I think my fingers are bleeding!"

We had a wonderful time – Whit and Jess of Paper Sky were gracious hosts and good instructors. Looking forward to hopefully another event in the future.

Lauren kicked my ass at quilling. No joke.

Note how my fortune cookie is not held up in pride.

3 Responses to “Be Mine, Valentine”

  1. dj dinsy February 17, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    who’s the dark brunette hottie??

  2. Jess February 17, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    These turned out so well!! I love the heart one with the needle and thread!

  3. Jackie February 17, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Those are darling! I admire your crafting skills. Lauren’s no craft slouch either. What a fun event! Did they provide chocolate and champagne too?

Leave a Reply

