The Dream of the ’90s is Alive in SLO-town

27 Feb

This weekend I attended a birthday party that had a 1990s “costume” theme.

Initially, one may think this to be a challenge. But once I started to do some research (and look back at old pictures), I found the following inspiration:

Meshing all this together, I did some thrift hunting (and a stop at K-Mart – apparently the dream of the ’90s is alive in K-Mart too) and got down to brass tax. Because just buying things is never enough for me. I have to struggle and mess said purchases up by pulling out the ole sewing machine.

Side note – I had to chuck the hat. I was too scared to try it on in the thrift shop (hello? lice!), so I waited until I got home and cleaned it… then learned it was too small.

Anyway, I started by turning the dress into a short baby-doll style, which was popular at the time.

Fiance said “This is disgusting. And perfect.” Check and check.

A quick trip to Beverly’s warranted me a strip of brown velvet to make a choker – all the rage in back to school shopping circa 1994.

And, using the remaining skirt fabric, I made a scrunchie. What a wrist accessory, I do declare.

End result:


6 Responses to “The Dream of the ’90s is Alive in SLO-town”

  1. Meghan February 28, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    I love it Erin! Its so perfect!

    • tealandtulle February 29, 2012 at 8:33 am #

      Thanks Megs! I have to admit – I felt GROSS in that outfit. How did we ever dress like that?

  2. Linda Vernon February 27, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    It’s adorable! I just saw the pictures of you guys on facebook and had to laugh hysterically. In a good way.

    I love what you did with this dress, Erin I think you may have started a new trend — retro 90’s. Very Creative. You guys sure do a lot of fun things!

    • tealandtulle February 29, 2012 at 8:34 am #

      Ha! Thanks Linda! It was fun to put together, but I felt so dowdy in the get-up. I’m glad you got a laugh out of our outfits – that was the goal!

      • Linda Vernon February 29, 2012 at 9:19 am #

        I thought you looked really cute in your 90’s dress! I actually had a dress very similiar to that dress only it was longer and the top was red and the bottom was blue. It was definitely iconic 90’s fashion! 🙂

  3. Jackie February 27, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    I loved this costume! The banging bangs and choker necklace were icing on the cake. It kind of makes me want to watch Blossom, Friends and 90210 right now.

Leave a Reply

