Show Your Pride with Pennant Flags!

2 Mar

It’s said that when a door closes, a window opens. The same could be said about wedding projects, but it’s more like “when a door closes, five windows open, and they all need attention.”

Anyway, one of the projects I’ve been working on over the past few weeks has been the table number pennant flags. While the actual project was easy, I was figuring out as I went along, so that caused a lot of start and stops while I ran through scenarios and hypotheticals (no one wants to replace yards of fabric and time spent on the project over poor execution).

This says a lot of my growing patience. Because patience is not my middle name. My middle name is “Oh-My-God-I-Want-This-Done-Now-What’s-The-Best-Short-Cut-Can-I-Eat-This-Cookie-Too?”

Anyway, I got fiance in the mix this time around. Using some light card-stock, he cut out the pennant flag templates for me to use.

I took the extra fabric from the centerpieces and cut them out into rough triangle shapes.

Using spray glue (thanks Gram for this tip!), I sprayed the card-stock and stuck the fabric over it.

Then I cut off the excess fabric to create a fabric-covered pennant flag.

Now it was time to pizzazz and decorate the flags. First was painting on the numbers, using stencils from Martha Stewart Crafts (I found them at Michael’s) and salmon paint from Beverly’s.

Next was assembling the straws (found at a local wine shop – Pithy Little Wine Co) that would serve as the rods of the flags.

Using my Annie-Get-Your-Glue-Gun, I glued one straw into another and reinforced them with lollipop sticks inside.

Next was adhering the flags to the straw-rods.

Last, since I did put two straws together, you could see the seam where they were glued together. Using some coordinating ribbon from Michael’s, I tied a little decorative knot where the seam was to disguise it and add some flair.

Ta da! Now people will know where to sit. If the straw-rods don’t buckle under the pressure. Fingers crossed.

5 Responses to “Show Your Pride with Pennant Flags!”

  1. Frankie Fingers Senior March 4, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    These are great!

  2. Jackie March 2, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Wow! These turned out amazing! I hope you were able to eat a cookie while crafting too 🙂

    Your wedding decor is really coming together! I can’t wait to see it all set up on the big day!

    • tealandtulle March 5, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

      I definitely ate cookies while making these. Oatmeal raisin this time – so they were totally good for me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wedding Project Round-Up – A Retrospective « teal and tulle - May 18, 2012

    […] making the pennant flag table numbers, which can be seen here, I didn’t really think about how they would be attached or included with the centerpieces. […]

Leave a Reply

