More Cheese for My Muffin Top, Please!

9 Mar

Earlier this week, under Weekend Round-up (yee-haw!) I posted that I made some savory muffins for breakfast. Which I then subsequently ate every day until we ran out on Wednesday. That was a depressing day.

Anyway! In a fun twist from traditional, sweet fruity muffins, these are filled with spinach, cheese and onion.

The muffins will keep for several days if well wrapped, and if you reheat them for about 10-12 seconds, they’ll have the straight-out-of-the-oven (ok, microwave) feel.

Spinach & Cheese Muffins, c/o Betty Crocker

Ingredients:

1 1/4 C milk (I used 1%)

1/3 C butter (I used low-fat butter)

1 egg

2 C flour

3 TBSP baking powder

1/4 tsp kosher salt

1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper

1/2 C of coarsely chopped fresh spinach, or 1/4 C of frozen spinach, thawed and well-drained.

1/4 C shredded parmesan cheese

1/2 C shredded cheddar cheese (I used a low fat Mexican cheese mixture)

2 TBSP green onions (I didn’t have green onions so I finely chopped white onion)

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 400. Either grease muffin pan or set muffin wrappers (foil works better than paper, by the way).

In a mixer on low, combine butter, egg, milk, flour, baking powder, salt, pepper, onion and both cheeses. Don’t over-mix. Stir in spinach.

Use a large scoop to fill muffin tin – will make 10-12 regular muffins.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until nicely golden-browned on top. Remove from oven, from pan and allow to cool slightly before digging in.

3 Responses to “More Cheese for My Muffin Top, Please!”

  1. Heather March 10, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    Oh my goodness, I have these ingredients in my house at ALL TIMES. Time to make some muffins!

  2. Linda Vernon March 9, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Me too Jackie! But these muffins look really good Erin. I think I will try them.

  3. Jackie March 9, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    I can’t believe you were able to make your breakfast muffins last until Wednesday. I fear if I attempted to make these delish muffins I’d eat all 12 for breakfast tomorrow. Then make more.

Leave a Reply

