Collision of Caramel

15 Mar

This post was going to be about the delightful homemade caramel frosting I made for some cupcakes I baked for my friend’s Jess’s birthday. How could this not have a happy ending?

Rut roh.

Oh. That’s how.

Anyway, let’s back up. Because despite the final result, the recipe and assembly went off without a hitch. I should just never be allowed to carry completed cupcakes ANYWHERE.

I was on the search  for something jazzy to incorporate into basic chocolate cupcakes, as I said, for my friend’s birthday. After browsing my trusty Betty Crocker’s Best of Baking cookbook, I came across Caramel Frosting. It met the following criteria:

1. Sounded delicious

2. Something a little different

3. I had all the ingredients

So I got underway.

Caramel Frosting, c/o Betty Crocker (that feisty feline fem fatale!)

Ingredients:

1/2 C butter (1 stick)

1 C brown sugar

1/4 C milk

2 C powdered sugar

Instead of milk (since I have been lazy and haven't gone to the store for essentials all week), I used fat free half and half. I am SO resourceful.

Preparation:

Melt butter in saucepan over low-med heat. Add brown sugar and stir until boiling.Constantly stir once boiling for two minutes.

Add milk and bring mixture back to a boil for another 2 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to come to a lukewarm temperature.

Then whisk in powdered sugar until no longer lumpy.

Frost whatever you wish! Cupcakes, pretzels, carrots. I like frosting a large soup spoon and eating it that way.

The frosting went on very easily and cooled to a nice glossy finish – very esthetic looking. That is until I smashed them inside their carry box with my Hulk Hands on the way to work.

3 Responses to “Collision of Caramel”

  1. Jess March 27, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    They were AMAZING. Thanks for being complpletely wonderful Erin 🙂

  2. Frankie Fingers Senior March 15, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Oh Frankie Junior, you DO take after Frankie Senior! Rut roh is right, but I bet they were delicious!!

    • tealandtulle March 15, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      I Frankie Fingered those poor cupcakes until they looked like big globby crumbs!

Leave a Reply

