We All Scream for Sour Cream

29 Mar

Sour Cream Cookies. I had never heard of such a thing until a week or so ago.

Sour cream is one those products I buy at the store for one of two reasons:

1. We are going to have Mexican food and fiance would like it to top his meal.

2. I am running down the diary aisle like I’m on Supermarket Sweep, doing an arm-sweep across shelves to collect prize-winning items, and inadvertently knock a container of sour cream into my cart.

Either way, we usually use a little bit of sour cream when/if we have it, then keep it until it grows legs and is able to throw itself out.

So, noticing that I had not one, but two 8 oz containers of sour cream in my fridge, I realized time was working against me if I didn’t want to conduct a colonization experiment in my fridge.

Flipping through my Betty Crocker Best of Baking cookbook for inspiration, I eventually find my way into the index, looking up sour cream. Behold, what do I see? Sour cream… COOKIES? I think “this must be a fluke.”

I pull out my other Betty Crocker cookbook Best Loved Cookie Recipes and there it is again. Sour Cream Cookies. Now I step back and weigh the options:

A. Serve Mexican food for the next 11 nights in hopes of using up all the sour cream

B. Trust that two Betty Crocker cookbooks (that both have a title starting with the word ‘Best’) can’t be wrong.

Clearly, I pick B. And you know what? Aside from having a slightly more cakey texture than I’m used to, the cookies turned out really good. The sour cream keeps the cookie from being too sweet, and the consistency is really soft in its finished form. I added some dark chocolate chips to give the cookies some texture and additional flavor.

Sour Cream Cookies, c/o Betty Crocker (A sexy kitten in her oven mittens!)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 C brown sugar

1 C sour cream

1/2 C shortening

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

2 3/4 C all purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 C (generous) of chocolate chips – or whatever you want to add (pecans, coconut, etc.)

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 375.

Beat first five ingredients with a mixer. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt.

Once mixed add your chocolate chips (or whatever you choose).

Scoop into cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes or until center leaves no indentation when lightly pressed.

Allow to cool on rack and enjoy!

Don’t forget – bake just one dozen to enjoy now and wrap the rest up for the freezer to defrost and bake later!

4 Responses to “We All Scream for Sour Cream”

  1. Jess April 2, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Oooo how were they? (Did I miss that part?)

    • tealandtulle April 2, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      They were pretty good. More cakey than I am used to, but they stayed really soft and the flavor was pretty good too. The sour cream kept them from being too sweet. Yum! I would definitely make them again.

  2. Linda Vernon March 29, 2012 at 9:21 am #

    Yum. Remind me not to read your blog on a empty stomach. I feel the urge to run out to the store and get the stuff for these cookies! 🙂

  3. Jackie March 29, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    I’m not a fan of sour cream but these look delish! I might have to taste test 1 (or 12) just to be sure.

Leave a Reply

