Weekend Round-Up

2 Apr

The past week and weekend I talked things up. In a big way. I was going to do “this” and “that” for my wedding. Fiance is gone on business, so it’s my time to shine. I was going to be so productive. Get everything done so all I had to do was rest on my laurels until May 5th.

Oh, the best laid plans.

Despite my best efforts to avoid accomplishing anything, I found myself knocking a few things out here and there. A few items I accomplished this weekend (as measly as they are):

Chalkboards

You think, “Oh Erin. This must take you like 5 minutes to do.”

Well, sadly I wrote and rewrote these for quite some time. Longer than I should admit. It’s just embarrassing.

Good thing I never had to write "I will never chew gum in class" 50 times on a chalkboard. It would've taken me two weeks.

Bean Bags for Bean Bag Toss Game

Truth be told, this is the second time I made these toss bags. Though, the first time I didn’t know what I was doing, and they were ruined by our cats when we were gone overnight.

Since I am one to take lemons and turn them into sour lemon juice, I took the fabric we had left and recreated the bean bags.

This time, I went down to Beverly’s to purchase some discount fabric to double-layer the fabric pouches (Fiance’s suggestion). I ended up liking the floral clearance fabric enough that I used it on the exterior of one side of each bag. The opposite sides have either a solid watermelon or green color fabric.

These bags now reside inside a impenetrable box, hidden away from the cats and their evil doings.

Gift Boxes for Bridesmaids

Instead of completing crafts specifically for the wedding and reception, I was swayed (read: distracted) into creating little gift boxes for each bridesmaid. I wanted something wrapped where they could open the box without ripping a part the paper.

Using my trusty Annie-Get-Your-Glue-Gun, I went to town individually wrapping each top and bottom of the gift boxes, then adhering a filmy poppy-colored ribbon to the inside so I could tie it over the top.

Too bad there isn't anything in there but a single POG from 1996.

Not quite sure what is in store for me this week. Maybe I’ll share the inner workings of how I made these little gift boxes, or since Fiance will be back mid-week, perhaps I’ll try a new recipe. Baking and cooking isn’t nearly as inspiring when it is just you, the cats, and the voices.

Here’s to a wonderful week!

8 Responses to “Weekend Round-Up”

  1. Frankie Fingers Senior April 4, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    See what I mean about Frankie Fingers???? Dillon11 is aka for Frankie Fingers Sr!

    • tealandtulle April 4, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

      I thought it was some saucy stranger – but then quickly figured it was FF SR. I cut and burn myself nightly with these stupid crafts. Two days ago I almost sewed my finger by dumbly having it too close to the needle while using my sewing machine.

  2. Frankie Fingers Senior April 3, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    Thankfully you don’t have the Frankie Fingers curse when it comes to crafting! 🙂 I love everything you’ve done!

    • tealandtulle April 4, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      I don’t know – I’ve injured my frankie fingers many times with my glue gun. Have a couple of fresh marks from the gift boxes!

      • dillon11 April 4, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

        Yeah, I know what you mean. I just Iook at a pair of scissors and somehow end up with a cut. 🙂

  3. Jackie April 2, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    Those bean bag pillows are so cute. I think if they were for sale from Cost Plus I’d have to by them for my very small doll’s bed (if I had a doll and a bed for said doll).

    I LOVE The colorful frame for your chalkboards. Also, your gift wrapping is exceptional. Just don’t judge me the next time I give you something that looks like Lula (or a blind baby bird) wrapped it.

    • tealandtulle April 4, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      I could give them to Lula and Hendrix for pillows!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wedding Project Round-Up – A Retrospective « teal and tulle - May 18, 2012

    […] the corn hole game. My father made the boards and I sewed the bags – which was mentioned in this post. (c) Ken […]

Leave a Reply

