Weekend Roundup

10 Apr

So, I’m a little out of order and have my weekend roundup post on Tuesday.

The recipe to the perfect weekend, in my opinion, is a blend of productivity and play. Since I consider being productive as doing one thing out of the seven on my to-do list over a three-day period, I think it was a very successful weekend.

Saturday Fun Day

Since Easter was Sunday and the weather was so nice, we opted for a Saturday fun day. Lauren, fiance and I nestled ourselves into a shaded corner of Chamisal Vineyards and enjoyed a refreshing bottle of Chard, along with enough classy snacks to feed eight people. 

Label Intensive

I spent a good part of the weekend working on the placecards for our wedding reception, as well as the placecard holder.

I punched the decorative sides of the cards – which seems easy from the start. However, during the process my Frankie Fingers came out, and I ended up mispunching about 20 of the cards. So admittedly some of the time was spent redoing those cards. 

Sunday Brunch

We hosted my folks for brunch on Easter, which included quiche, monkey bread, popovers, fruit salad and mimosas.

The monkey bread was fiance’s personal request. Therefore, I have been heating up leftovers of it for him each morning this week. We are placing bets on when diabetes will set in from eating so much sugar and lard. Either way, we both think he’ll need insulin by the end of the week.

Recipe for these light-as-air popovers coming your way later this week.

9 Responses to “Weekend Roundup”

  1. Meghan April 11, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    Sounds like the perfect blend of a weekend. Your placecards are adorable and I can’t even imagine punching that many holes in that many placecards. I think my hands and fingers would be ready to quit after about 3! Your brunch sounds amazing as well, looking forward to the recipes!

    • tealandtulle April 11, 2012 at 10:24 am #

      Thanks Megs! I used a neat paper punch from Martha Stewart, so it helped to get things done somewhat quickly.

  2. Linda Vernon April 10, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    Sounds like the perfect weekend!

  3. Jackie April 10, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    What a fun weekend. I must say the wedding place cards are super cute! How did you think do whole punches in them my clever redheaded friend?

  4. Lauren April 10, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    MMMMMMonkey bread!! Let’s get a recipe of that! Good thing you left out a photo of me covered in cheese crumbs. Thanks, Chamisal– must repeat!!

    • tealandtulle April 10, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      The photographs of us at Chamisal were not flattering – better left for another day!

      • Jess April 11, 2012 at 10:04 am #

        Not gonna lie, next time you girls go wine tasting, I’m wrestling Fiance out of the car and taking his place! I have a mean headlock . . .

      • tealandtulle April 11, 2012 at 10:23 am #

        Next time we have a Saturday or Sunday fun-day, I’ll be sure to invite you, Jess!

Leave a Reply

