Pennant Flag Adorned Programs

22 May

Just before our big day, Fiance and I thought handing out programs would be a great addition to our ceremony.

I pulled together the necessary content, and after gator wrestling the printer into cooperation, was able to successfully print out all the programs.

Of course, just printing programs and folding along the center wasn’t enough. Oh no, these bad boys needed a decorative touch.

Good thing that I had some time on my hands in the days leading up to the wedding, as well as left over fabric scraps to make this happen. Oh, and a Matron of Honor who was a captive audience. I’d say she was willing, but I think it was more Stockholm Syndrome than anything that got her involved, that, and a glass or two of red wine.

I decided a nice detail would be a mini pennant flag draped across the front of each program.

Mini Pennant Flag Garlands

Step 1: Create your mini pennant flags

a. Use spray glue to adhere fabric to cardstock paper. I used left over scrapbook paper, because 2003’s crafty trend of scrapbooking is over and I’ll never have a need for all this pricey paper again.

b. Trim paper down to just the fabric portion.

c. Trace out pre-defined pennant flag size. I made my template out of cardstrock, then covered it with tape to create a laminated sample.

d. Cut out flags. Ice your hand after, if you are like me and are a lefty using scissors intended for right-handed people. It leaves a nice bruise on your thumb.

Step 2: Glue together to make a garland

a.Pour yourself a glass of wine. This step was suggested by my Matron of Honor. It made the assembly line move much more effectively.

b. Using 3 flags per garland, we took baker’s twine (any small thread or string would work here as well), and glued the edges to the backs of each flag. Leave enough twine between each to create a nice drape.

Step 3: Glue garlands onto programs

a. Take each strand of pennant flags, and with your glue gun, adhere each pennant flag to the program.

Finished Product:

6 Responses to “Pennant Flag Adorned Programs”

  1. Jess May 23, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    These were completely darling, and I plan on taking mine to NY with me to show off to my mom 🙂

  2. Linda Vernon May 22, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    Erin these are absolutely adorable. And pulled together at the last minute too! So cute! 😀

    • tealandtulle May 23, 2012 at 8:16 am #

      Thanks Linda! They were fun to make – and with only a few burns from the glue gun (it’s tough to glue such small stuff)!

  3. Jackie May 22, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Those were a hit! I think people kept them as wedding favors 🙂

Leave a Reply

